1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can you permanently disable Windows Firewall

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by chalky, Mar 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chalky

    chalky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,864
    I have Zone Alarm Pro installed also a Router firewall.

    Every-time i reboot i have to go into settings and turn off the Windows Firewall...if i don't i have connection problems.

    I can't seem to disable it permanently...it enables itself every re-boot...is there another setting somewhere...searched all over and all i can find is how to enable it.

    Before i reformatted...I'm sure Zone Alarm used to turn the windows firewall off automatically...can't seem to find how to set it up again.
     
  2. pm1941

    pm1941

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    190
    I don't use ZA but reading their help pages it should have disabled WF automatically when you installed the application.
    There should be something in the ZA setup where you tell it to be the default security center.
    If WF is enabling itself each time you boot then there is a problem in your setup and you maybe should be asking ZA directly or looking for support forums.
    You need WF to be active, should you ever have to format/reinstall Windows.
     
  3. redoak

    redoak Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,782
    I can only assume that you have turned it off at the Start>Settings>Control Panel> "Security Center" and still have the problem. Is that true?
    I have done that and have "ZA" running with no problem from the MS firewall.
    {redoak}
     
  4. chalky

    chalky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,864

    Yes have done that...still enables on reboots though.

    Off to check out the Zone Alarm forums...have searched before but didn't find any info on the automatic turning off of WF...
     
  5. chalky

    chalky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,864
    I've gone into Zone Alarm/Firewall/Main/Advanced Settings..

    The box to 'disable WF' is already ticked.
     
  6. pm1941

    pm1941

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    190
    Hmm, seems like a ZA bug. Hope you find a fix.
     
  7. chalky

    chalky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,864
    Thanks guys...

    Off to register with ZA forums...will ask a question and with a little luck :)
     
  8. chalky

    chalky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,864
    Asked about this in ZA forum.

    Was told to disable it in registry....there's no entry for Windows Firewall in the registry whether it's enabled or not.

    Going to try and re-install ZA see if that works.
     
  9. chalky

    chalky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,864
  10. pm1941

    pm1941

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    190
    I still think it's a ZA problem and/or a clash with another application causing it. Without WF you'll be left wide open to attack should you ever have to format and reinstall Windows.
    Very unwise to remove Windows built in safeguards, but it's your call.
     
  11. chalky

    chalky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,864
    Thanks pm but it can be re-installed beforehand....it does say how to do this.

    Note: If you would like to reinstall the windows firewall at any time. All you have to do is go to the Control Panel and click "Windows Firewall" a box will then pop up asking you if you would like to reinstall the firewall. Simply click yes.
     
  12. pm1941

    pm1941

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    190
    I'm glad about that!!
    ;)
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/449022