Can You Use The Original Airport Card On A G3 Running Osx 10.4.8?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mastersk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
9
I'm currently using a USB adapter which works intermittantly. I have an original wireless card I can buy but wonder if it is compatible with the upgraded Tiger OSX 10.4.8, as the original OS for my G3 is OS9? I have to take the adapter back to the store by tommorrow to get my refund, so it's kind of an emergency. If it turns out that the original card is more reliable, then I would rather use that. Thanks, Kevin
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
246
Just saying 'G3' doesn't say much, you know. Are you talking about a Wallstreet, a Lombard, a Pismo, an iMac, a B&W tower, an iBook?

FWIW, though, I have an iBook G3 600 with the original Airport card running under 10.4.8. I have updated the firmware in the card so that it is running WPA as well. Steady as a rock.
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
1,064
Pensacola Tiger said:
Just saying 'G3' doesn't say much, you know. Are you talking about a Wallstreet, a Lombard, a Pismo, an iMac, a B&W tower, an iBook?

FWIW, though, I have an iBook G3 600 with the original Airport card running under 10.4.8. I have updated the firmware in the card so that it is running WPA as well. Steady as a rock.
You left out a large number of G3s. This is only to highlight the complications of the question as asked.

We need specifics in order to give you any usable information upon which to act. Go to the Apple System Profiler and regurgitate here what it says there. Otherwise we're shooting in the dark.
 

mastersk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
9
Good point. The G3 in question is an iBook 500 MHZ power pc, 256 MB SDRAM with an original airport compatable slot. I am running tiger 10.4.8
 

mastersk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
9
Good point. The G3 in question is an iBook 500 mhz power pc G3.
W/ 256 mb sdram. So I assume the original airport card is indeed okay?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1
Hi,
I have a G3, 600Mhz, RAM 384 Mb with OS X 10.4.6

I just installed an original apple airport card (802.11b).

How can I update the firmware?

thanks
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
246
raggiosole said:
Hi,
I have a G3, 600Mhz, RAM 384 Mb with OS X 10.4.6

I just installed an original apple airport card (802.11b).

How can I update the firmware?

thanks
Try Software Update.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top