1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cannot access a specific web site - driving me nuts!

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Undine_2042, Mar 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Undine_2042

    Undine_2042 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Tech Guys - I hope you can help ...

    Using Windows XP SP2 all latest security patches

    I can access http://www.library.usyd.edu.au/

    But not the catalogue http://opac.library.usyd.edu.au/

    (this is the "catalogue | search the collection" link on http://www.library.usyd.edu.au/home.html

    Both sites ping OK

    With Firewall (ZoneAlarm) off, BitDefender AV 10 off - still no access

    No access in Opera, IE 7 or FireFox 2.0.0.2

    I have checked hosts file - normal, 1 entry "localhost"

    I have run ipconfig /renew - no effect

    Rebooted ADSL modem - no effect

    I have set http://opac.library.usyd.edu.au/ and http://www.library.usyd.edu.au/ as trusted sites - no effect

    I have allowed popups on both sites - no effect

    I asked a friend to try on his PC - it worked OK for him!

    It worked OK for me too about a month ago :confused:

    No problems with any other web sites.

    What is going on here????
     
  2. Undine_2042

    Undine_2042 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    If I log into my PC with another account - say "Guest" - it works for that account!!!

    Sooooo - how do I fix my account???
     
  3. Undine_2042

    Undine_2042 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    OK that ws yesterday - today I can't access opac.library.usyd.edu.au under ANY account!!!
     
  4. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    Have you tried the normal drill, delete all history, internet files and cookies in IE and clear all private data in Firefox?
    Then run ipconfig /flushdns from command prompt.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/551337

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice