1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot access a web page

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by robby1, Apr 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. robby1

    robby1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I can no longer access the web page www.just1business.com

    i know the website is working fine for anyone other than the computers in my office, we tried to add an email address to this site through the people we bought the domain name off and ever since then it hasnt worked, we reset the router and this had no effect. Please help as my only otion now is a hammer!
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Try refreshing your DNS resolver cache by following these steps:

    Click on Start > Run > type CMD

    In the Command Prompt, type: ipconfig /flushdns

    Reboot.

    If no luck,

    Log onto router settings, select Wan settings and change MTU to 1396 (but remember original number in case it doesn't work). Click apply.

    If still no luck,

    Read the following links:

    http://www.4creatingawebsite.com/cant-access-website.htm

    http://ask-leo.com/i_cant_access_some_websites_why.html

    If no joy whatsoever, try changing your MAC address with Mac MakeUp.
     
  3. robby1

    robby1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    None of the above has worked!! what can be causing this to happen... im getting frustrated and im ready to smash the S**T out of this load of crap!!!!!
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  5. robby1

    robby1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    ye it works thu a proxy... but why wont it work normaly?! im well baffled
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    There are quite a number of reasons. Your problem is quite common but very few solutions actually work.

    Have you tried bypassing the router and connecting directly to the modem with the ethernet cable?
     
  7. robby1

    robby1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    still nuthing at all!!!!!!!
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Can you ping the address?

    Have you run a tracert?

    Have you contacted your ISP?
     
  9. robby1

    robby1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    no i havent... but how cud this all be caused by tryin to set up an email box (as thats when it stopped working)? and why does it work on other networks and thru a proxy?!
     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Your IP or IP range is probably getting blocked along the way to the website's server. A tracert would show it.
     
  11. robby1

    robby1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    i have no idea what this is but this it wot it says


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\Documents and Settings\user>tracert www.just1business.com
    Tracing route to just1business.com [38.127.130.203]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms WL.domain.com [192.168.2.1]
    2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 10.0.9.1
    3 2 ms 9 ms 2 ms host217-41-119-158.in-addr.btopenworld.com [217.
    41.119.158]
    4 38 ms 39 ms 38 ms host81-134-112-1.in-addr.btopenworld.com [81.134
    .112.1]
    5 41 ms 43 ms 44 ms 213.120.182.141
    6 39 ms 38 ms 39 ms 213.120.161.82
    7 42 ms 41 ms 38 ms 217.41.222.30
    8 39 ms 39 ms 40 ms 217.41.222.178
    9 38 ms 39 ms 39 ms 217.41.222.117
    10 39 ms 40 ms 38 ms core2-ge4-0-0.birmingham.ukcore.bt.net [217.32.1
    70.73]
    11 42 ms 42 ms 43 ms core2-pos0-6-1-0.ealing.ukcore.bt.net [62.6.204.
    214]
    12 42 ms 42 ms 41 ms transit1-xe0-1-0.ealing.ukcore.bt.net [194.72.9.
    234]
    13 41 ms 42 ms 42 ms t2c1-ge8-0-0.uk-eal.eu.bt.net [166.49.168.17]
    14 42 ms 42 ms 42 ms t2c2-p3-0.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net [166.49.208.210]
    15 44 ms 44 ms 43 ms t2a1-ge7-0-0.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net [166.49.135.110]
    16 44 ms 44 ms 43 ms gi8-44.mpd01.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.1
    4.49]
    17 43 ms 43 ms 42 ms te2-1.3493.mpd02.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.1
    17.2.18]
    18 66 ms 66 ms 72 ms te2-1.mpd02.par01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.3.
    5]
    19 66 ms 65 ms 66 ms te0-4-0-7.mpd22.par01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.11
    7.50.1]
    20 125 ms 124 ms 124 ms te7-8.mpd02.iad01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.28.
    189]
    21 125 ms 124 ms 124 ms te0-0-0-2.mpd22.iad02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
    .31.165]
    22 125 ms 123 ms 124 ms te4-1.mpd01.iad03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.3.6
    ]
    23 125 ms 128 ms 125 ms vl3503.na03.b003393-1.iad03.atlas.cogentco.com [
    38.20.33.218]
    24 124 ms 123 ms 124 ms 38.104.58.90
    25 * * * Request timed out.
    26 * * * Request timed out.
    27 * * * Request timed out.
    28 * * * Request timed out.
    29 * * * Request timed out.
    30 * * * Request timed out.
    Trace complete.
    C:\Documents and Settings\user>
     
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Only thing I can say is both IP's, the one from www.just1business.com (38.127.130.203) and the last one in your tracert (38.104.58.90) come from the same ISP, Performance Systems International.

    I would contact my ISP with this info. Other than that, I don't know what else to try, sorry. [​IMG]
     
  13. robby1

    robby1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    help!
     
  14. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Have you tried more than one browser?

    Have you tried disabling your firewall, if you have one?


    On one of your faulty computers,

    Please click here to download and install version 2.0.2 of the HijackThis Installer.

    Run it and select Do a system scan and save a logfile.

    The log will be saved in Notepad. Copy and paste the log in your next post.

    Do not fix anything
     
  15. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    However, this problem occurs when viewing the same site over a router from more than one computer or application at the same time for a period of time. This activates something in the server software that puts your IP address on a "Blacklist".

    If you check your IP address with and without your router, you will see that it's different. The MAC address on your router is different from the one on your modem. The MAC address helps define what your IP address is. If you are on an "IP Blacklist", you must change your IP. This is only possible through changing the MAC address on the router or calling you ISP. Unfortunately, you'll need a lot of luck to convince your ISP to change your IP address... [​IMG]

    1. You must go into your router.
    2. Enter the setup section.
    3. Select MAC address.
    4. Select user defined.
    5. Change a few numbers and letters in the MAC address.
    6. Save settings and reboot your computer and reset your modem.

    Or, Mac MakeUp

    Or, try the following:

    Read THIS.

    Enter these settings exactly as shown in the link:

    Prefered DNS server: 208.67.222.222

    Alternate DNS server: 208.67.220.220

     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/919959

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice