1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Cannot access bios. This bios is exclusively for Gateway

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by robertdwhite, Sep 14, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. robertdwhite

    robertdwhite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    I volunteer checking out and fixing hardware for a church thrift shop. We received a Gateway all in one in donation. It is model ZX4555G. On boot it displays "This bios is exclusively for Gateway" then flashes some info to fast to read. I wanted to set boot to CD/DVD then make it a Lenox machine. The machine will no recognize esc, F2, F12 or delete. I tried putting in a boot CD and attaching an external cd/dvd. The machine is running win 8.1 but locked. Thanks so much for all advice.
    Rob
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,958
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the exact SNID number and serial number on that "Gateway ZX4555G" all-in-one?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. robertdwhite

    robertdwhite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    SNID 34702774130 Serial DQGF0AA0013470GC5D3000 Zeros could be o's
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,958
    First Name:
    Frank
    I suspected earlier that you had submitted an incorrect model number, and the SNID number that you submitted confirmed that.
    You actually have a Gateway ZX4665G all-in-one which appears to have originally come with Windows 8.1 64-bit.
    Capture.JPG

    The last BIOS update for it is version P11.Bo which was released in March 2014.
    Capture2.JPG

    THIS is the user manual for it.
    I browsed through it and couldn't find anything on how to access or update the BIOS.

    HERE is the webpage for chatting with a support assistant.

    You didn't say if the BIOS is locked or if the Windows operating system is locked.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. robertdwhite

    robertdwhite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Please forgive. I am an amateur. I am unable to access the bios. It will not recognize the Del or any other F access method. I do not believe it is locked. The windows is locked which is why I was going to install linex
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,303
    Just wondering; are you by chance using a wireless keyboard?
     
  7. robertdwhite

    robertdwhite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    No it is a usb keyboard
     
  8. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,303
    Some keyboards have an ON/OFF for the function keys. Make sure your F keys are enabled or ON. Try another keyboard and or another usb port [if you have more than one]
    Other than that, I have no more ideas.
     
  9. robertdwhite

    robertdwhite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    I tried a couple of keyboards and all slots. no joy. Still need ideas please.
     
  10. robertdwhite

    robertdwhite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    I solved the access bios problem bu this windows boot monitor seems to be really messing things up does anyone know how to turn it off?
     
  11. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,501
    First Name:
    Allan
    Describe what you see on the screen please, 'windows boot monitor' is too vague.
     
  12. robertdwhite

    robertdwhite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    I just reset the machine and it seems to have fixed the problem. Thanks for all the assistance.
     
  13. robertdwhite

    robertdwhite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    I am not sure how to mark this thread closed. Can someone please advise me?
     
  14. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,303
    At the upper left of the page you will see a solved button. Just click it and that will mark the thread solved for you. No need for this one; I will mark it for you .
     
  15. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,307
    You can mark it solved at the top of the thread; it will be closed automatically after a couple months of inactivity.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1232956

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice