1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot access HTTP websites

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Trentham, Oct 17, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Trentham

    Trentham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    I believe this to be a Winows10 issue, only because I've only seen it on a windows10 computer and it wasn't previously a problem (so I'm told - this is on a client's computer).

    Any attempt to access a web page on an HTTP website results in a failure with too many redirects. This could be accessing the site itself or just a page or document on such a site. It's the only computer I've seen this on; tablets and Windows7 computers have no trouble accessing the sites and there is no problem whatsoever accessing HTTPS websites.

    I can't find any settings anywhere that can control this and I can't think of any way I could make this happen. I can cause problems accessing HTTPS websites by having wrong date/time settings but nothing I've found anywhere has reported this particular problem and any solutions provided concentrate on things like clearing cache, correcting the redirect error (!) and so on - none of which apply here (all cache and other settings have been cleared).

    This happens on ALL browsers on this computer; Chrome, Firefox, IE and Edge.

    Any ideas? Anyone come across this issue? I've tried restoring to the oldest restore point available but that's only a week or so ago and the problem persists. Win10 is at 1803. The problem doesn't show on an older system which is Win10 1709.
     
  2. Lanctus

    Lanctus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    615
    You didn't say how you were accessing the internet (ethernet, wifi, etc), but try this:
    Left click Start, type cmd, then click it/press enter. Enter this command:
    netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt
    Press enter. Reboot after.
     
  3. Trentham

    Trentham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    Thanks for the suggestion but I'd already tried resetting the ip stack (and the winsock catalog and flushing the dns cache.....)
    The connection is via WiFi - but then so are all the working devices. I've not tried it directly by cable (it's not very convenient to do so) but I feel it's unlikely t make any difference.
     
  4. Lanctus

    Lanctus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    615
    • Open Internet Explorer.

    • Open website which is getting blocked.

    • Press alt key to open tool bar.

    • Now click on tools.

    • Then click on Compatibility view settings.

    • You will see the name of website under Add this website, so click on add to add this website.

    • Close the window and restart your computer.


    Try the below mentioned methods and see if it helps you to fix the issue.



    Method 1

    If issue still persists you may try to trust those websites by following the steps mentioned below.



    Step 1: Open the trusted sites



    1. Open Internet Explorer.
    2. Press the Alt key to make the tools menu visible.
    3. In the menu, click Tools.
    4. Now click Internet Options.
    5. Go to the Security tab.
    6. Select Trusted sites.
    7. Click Sites.
    Step 2:

    Add the trusted website



    1. Enter the address of the website you would like to add.
    2. Click Add.
    3. Close the opened Trusted Sites and Internet Options windows.


    Method 2
    If issue still persist, I would suggest you to try the steps in the following Microsoft article and check if it helps.



    "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage" error in Internet Explorer
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/956196



    Disclaimer:

    1. The Reset Internet Explorer Settings feature might reset security settings or privacy settings that you added to the list of Trusted Sites. The Reset Internet Explorer Settings feature might also reset parental control settings. We recommend that you note these sites before you use the Reset Internet Explorer Settings feature.
    2. Antivirus software can help protect your computer against viruses and other security threats. In most cases, you shouldn't disable your antivirus software. If you have to temporarily disable it to install other software, you should re-enable it as soon as you're done. If you're connected to the Internet or a network while your antivirus software is disabled, your computer is vulnerable to attacks.
    3. When you perform System Restore to restore the computer to previous state, programs and updates you installed are removed.
    4. After clean boot troubleshooting step, follow Step 3 in the provided link to return your computer to Normal startup mode.
    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us...o-win-10/c0607bcb-eb17-4ad7-98a1-1591f43c94c5
     
  5. Trentham

    Trentham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    Some interesting ideas and I'll see whether making an http site trusted will allow it to display, though, remember, this problem occurs in ALL web browsers, not just in IE.

    Te websites aren't so much getting blocked but produce a redirect loop for some reason. The eventual failing URL showing in the browser has the intended site named many times. It appears that http sites are invoking a redirect mechanism for some reason (the computer has been thoroughly scanned for malware, etc.)
     
  6. Lanctus

    Lanctus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    615
  7. Trentham

    Trentham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    An interesting idea except there IS no redirect error on any of the web pages. Other machines can get to http websites (and it is ANY http site, not any specific ones - even those which allow http AND https; https is OK, http fails). Further there's nothing untoward showing in the apache log files on the servers which I do control.

    I also don't have access to an IIS server ;-)
     
  8. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    Are the DNS servers the same on the problem computer and another that works ok with HTTP sites ?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1217968

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice