Cannot access internet via my DVR

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

greensourcegardens

Thread Starter
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
2
I have been trying to connect my security DVR to the internet and not having any luck. It shows up in my router as a recognized device through an assigned DHCP IP ... but I can't get my DVR to speak to the internet. I am a real newbie to networking troubleshooting so please bear with me! Any help would be greatly appreciated!
 

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,648
What's the purpose of you wanting the DVR to touch the Internet? Are you trying to remotely access the DVR across the Internet?
 

greensourcegardens

Thread Starter
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
2
I actually only want to use the Email function...so that I can get alerts if a camera malfunctions. I don't need to remote view the cameras.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,741
Hi, and welcome to TSG.

Does your DVR have a web page based interface that you are supposed to be able to access using a computer on your local network? If so, are you able to access it with your web browser?

Is the DVR supposed to use one of your existing email accounts for the outgoing mail?
 

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,648
How are you testing Internet connectivity from the DVR?
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2008
Messages
253
after your DVR gets an IP from DHCP, did you port forward the DVR ports in your router? This is needed to get the DVR accessible from internet. Different model or brand of DVR use different ports so that i can't specify which ports you need to port forward.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,741
after your DVR gets an IP from DHCP, did you port forward the DVR ports in your router? This is needed to get the DVR accessible from internet. Different model or brand of DVR use different ports so that i can't specify which ports you need to port forward.
I actually only want to use the Email function...so that I can get alerts if a camera malfunctions. I don't need to remote view the cameras.
I believe one only needs to be concerned with port forwarding if they need to access the DVR from the Internet. Having the DVR connect to an outbound mail server in order to email alerts about camera problems should not require any port forwarding.
 

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,648
Chuck,

This is correct. No port forwarding is necessary when we're dealing with out bound connections. This scenario is no different than your laptop accessing the Internet. One wouldn't set up port forwarding for your laptop to just access the Internet.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top