1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot access Net with iMac A1311

Discussion in 'Apple Mac' started by ep-p-two, Jul 13, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ep-p-two

    ep-p-two Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    We use Windows/Bootcamp on an iMac A1311, 2009. We now want to resurrect the Mac system, which appears to be perfect, other than the fact that we cannot access the Internet, despite the Mac Diagnostics saying everything is working.

    We released DHCP, restarted -- all the usual simple stuff.

    Mac Messages:
    • Your Internet connection appears to working correctly.
    • Network Status - green
    • Airport - green
    • Airport Settings - green
    • Network Settings - green
    • ISP - green
    • Internet - green
    • Server - green

    Browser message: Failed to load (tried three browsers)

    All other devices -- cellphones, tablets, desktops (including the iMac when using Windows/Bootcamp) join the network, without problem.

    Is this fixable?
     
  2. brooklynboy

    brooklynboy

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    305
    It's a 2009 iMac. Which version OS are you running?
     
  3. ep-p-two

    ep-p-two Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Under About this computer:
    iMac OSX
    iMac 11.2
    Intel core i3
    3.2 GHz
     
  4. brooklynboy

    brooklynboy

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    305
  5. ep-p-two

    ep-p-two Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    No luck. Will keep on trying -- still have Windows working perfectly on the same machine, though.
     
    brooklynboy likes this.
  6. brooklynboy

    brooklynboy

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    305
    Have you tried connecting through ethernet? Have you tried booting into Recovery and running disk utility?
     
  7. ep-p-two

    ep-p-two Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Ethernet - yes.
    Recovery - yes.
    Thanks.
    I'm not trying at the moment. I have resorted to USB sticks.
     
  8. ep-p-two

    ep-p-two Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Update - I renamed one of the computers and the Wifi was immediately up and working. Cannot explain.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1229937

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice