1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot access "personal" website

Discussion in 'Networking' started by scottfox, Jul 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. scottfox

    scottfox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I can't seem to be able to access my personal website from any of my home devices: computer,2xlatop,android phone all give me the same message: "Cannot connect to thebianchifam.mercury-gaming.com" I've been trying to connect with Google Chrome, IE and Firefox yet none of them work on either of the devices. I've asked other people to connect to the website and everyone says it's working just fine. I even used teamviewer on another computer in America and saw myself that it was working just fine. Also using the website : "http://www.newipnow.com/" lets me connect just fine to website but It's rather annoying having to use a proxy server to do all the intensive forum work. I've been reading around all the forums and have found people with the same problem but none of them actually posted back saying how they fixed it. I was literally editing a blog page when I clicked on update and the website didn't let me connect anymore. I've tried flushing the DNS through CMD line with the "ipconfig /flushdns" command but it has yet to do anything. I restarted the rooter in the hope it will work but no succees.

    - ping thebinachifam.mercury-gaming.com :

    Code:
    C:\Users\????>ping thebianchifam.mercury-gaming.com
    
    Pinging thebianchifam.mercury-gaming.com [209.190.24.9] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    
    Ping statistics for 209.190.24.9:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    
    - ping 209.190.24.9

    Code:
    C:\Users\DjAdy>ping 209.190.24.9
    
    Pinging 209.190.24.9 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    
    Ping statistics for 209.190.24.9:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    Thanks in advance for anyone who can help me with this problem.
     
  2. dukevyner

    dukevyner

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    787
  3. dukevyner

    dukevyner

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    787
    also are there any other cases where something similar to this happens(other sites)
    you may want to run a few scans with an anti-malware, anti-spyware, and anti-virus
    (I suggest "malwarebytes", "superantispyware", and "avast!"{or Microsoft security essentials if you prefer} this is optional)
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,805
    you will need to get in touch with your website host for that one
    it looks like when you were updating/editing the page it must have triggered a security alert & the server firewall has blocked you
     
  5. dukevyner

    dukevyner

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    787
    hmm that's interesting, just curious, what makes you say that "dvk01?" just trying to learn :)
     
  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,805
    he can access site via a proxy , he can't ping either the site or the IP number so it can't be a dns issue so it must be his IP blocked in teh server firewall. However the site appears to block all pings from anywhere

    It is a frequent occurrance when updating pages/posts in wordpress for thew server to think that you are attacking it, if your browser sends certain strings

    if hi9s host say that he isn't blocked in theor firewall then we can look at alternatives but it is the most likely cause
     
  7. scottfox

    scottfox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I've requested a ticket regarding this problem , but from what other people that had/have the same problem, it seems to be more an internal problem than a hosting problem, as many have called their hosters&ISP providers finding out everything is fine.

    Edit:
    They have replied to the ticket and they aren't blocking my ip address. Though they suggested calling the ISP provider...
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,805
    can you connect to it using your android phone, using a phone connection rather than wifi or linking via your router
     
  9. scottfox

    scottfox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    The computer is connected through a wire. The android phone connected to the wifi doesn't connect with the network provider ((sim)) it works just fine.
     
  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,805
    I will move this to networking where one of the gurus might have a better idea. I still think it is due to the website hots despite them saying that they haven't blocked your IP, I bet they have
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,864
    so anything connected to the router / and therefor your ISP will not access the site

    the pings appear to be blocked - i can access the site - but not PING the site - so they clearly have blocked

    i think the ISP is blocking too

    what router / modem do you have make and model - if you have a separate modem - perhaps you could connect a pc to the modem and try and see if you connect to the site - do a powercycle

    if you take the laptop anywhere else does it work


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to power cycle

    “power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
    • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
    • Wait at least 1 to 5 minutes,
    • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
    • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Next switch on the router (if a seperate device ) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,532
    Your IP address is on some blacklists referenced here. Those lists are supposed to be used for blocking mail spammers, but some sites use them for blocking all access. If your hosting site uses one of those lists you need to work with them or with your ISP to resolve this.
     
  13. scottfox

    scottfox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I only have a router which multiple devices are connected to. I have company router called "Vodafone Station" It's the first make not the Vodafone Station 2. Also when I step onto another wi-fi signal or connect to another network it all works again but not on the cable/wi-fi connection in the house. I have a attempted a power cycle though only with the router and the computer. I will try a complete router reset if no other response has been given. Thanks in advance.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,864
    see terrynet's reply
     
  15. scottfox

    scottfox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I've used the website Terrynet has provided and it says I am blacklisted from 2 of them :

    SEM-BLACK LISTED Return codes were: 127.0.0.3 229 0
    Spamhaus-ZEN LISTED Return codes were: 127.0.0.11 829 218

    I don't know how to check if my hoster use these or not... it's a free hosting company "byethost.com"
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1060374