1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot access public wifi

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kai24ta, Feb 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kai24ta

    kai24ta Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    New Dell laptop w/Windows 8 OS. Cannot access wifi in local café.
    At network & sharing center - Access Type: No Internet Access - Getting full signal
    Have McAfee Antivirus Plus installed
    Had this problem before and completely uninstalled/reinstalled McAfee. Problem was solved temporarily. Need help. Troubleshoot Problems did not work.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,967
    First Name:
    Terry
    If/when you get tired of McAfee run the Removal Tool after uninstalling.

    Do you get any error message when trying to connect?
     
  3. kai24ta

    kai24ta Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    from Intel ProSet/Wireless Tools, ran test and all past except Ping Test. Got msg: failure getting ping status.
    Is McAfee that bad?
     
  4. kai24ta

    kai24ta Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Did I waste my money on McAfee?
     
  5. kai24ta

    kai24ta Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Failure to get ping "status". Correction from previous note.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,967
    First Name:
    Terry
    No.

    Not necessarily.

    McAfee, like its competitors, gets corrupted. After installing you should run the Removal Tool and then test before reinstalling it.

    With it installed you may have to configure the firewall for the desired access. If there are separate configurations for ethernet and wireless make sure the wireless is set properly for the desired access. (I have no idea what the configuration settings for any version of McAfee are like.)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090385

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice