1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot access router set-up site

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by boojake, Nov 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. boojake

    boojake Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 610e Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 5 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3835 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 916 GB (797 GB Free); E: 698 GB (604 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0DPRF9
    Antivirus: Malwarebytes, Enabled and Updated

    Trying to set up a range extender. It's a generic Wireless N Repeater. Instructions say to go to address 192.168.10.1 and follow the directions from there. When I try to go there I get the message...."This page cannot be opened."

    Tried many times with same result. I am at a dead end. H E L P !!
     
  2. dckeks

    dckeks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,369
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Are you connected to via WiFi or Ethernet?

    Run Ipconfig /All
    Press Windows Key + X and select “Command Prompt (admin)”. Make sure you select to Run as Administrator
    Once you are at command promt to the following exactly as typed
    ipconfig /all > network_info.txt
    This creates the file, network_info.txt, in the current folder
    Upload the file to your next reply
     
  3. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    9,924
    First Name:
    Allan
    (Windows key + X doesn't work that way in Windows 7, do Start > type CMD > right-click cmd.exe at the top > Run as Administrator instead)

    Watch the video starting at about 3:10 for how to set up your device :-

     
  4. dckeks

    dckeks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,369
    First Name:
    Darrin
    You are right. To use to Win 10
     
  5. boojake

    boojake Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I am connected WiFi
     
  6. boojake

    boojake Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    You must talk to me as if I'm an idiot, which I probably am; my experience is limited with this level of operation, please simplify (greater detail) if possible.
     
  7. dckeks

    dckeks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,369
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Click on Start menu
    Type in cmd
    Right click on cmd in list and select run as administrator
    Once you are at command promt to the following exactly as typed
    ipconfig /all > network_info.txt
    This creates the file, network_info.txt, in the current folder
    Upload the file to your next reply

    Or try the following if easier

    http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/farbar/MiniToolBox.exe

    Please download MiniToolBox by Farbar and save it to your desktop.
    • Right-click on icon and select Run as Administrator to start the tool.
    • In the main window please checkmark the following checkboxes:

    ○ List IP configuration;

    • Click Go and wait paiently.
    • Upon completion a file called Result.txt will be saved on your desktop.

    Please include the content of that file in your next reply.
     
  8. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    9,924
    First Name:
    Allan
    (I'm using 7 most of the time here dckeks, so I have the opposite problem !).

    In the video, with the repeater plugged into the wall and powered on, the normal wireless connection has to be disconnected at the computer end first before a connection can be made to the repeater using 192.168.10.1 in a browser - I suspect that is the problem.

    Watch from about 3:10 for the actual setup, the earlier part is just about unpacking the device.
    Even if the device looks different I think the setup will be very similar.

     
  9. dckeks

    dckeks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,369
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Thats a good suggestion. I am trying to get his Ip address to make sure it is on the same subnet?
     
  10. boojake

    boojake Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks, I hope I did this right.
     

    Attached Files:

    • MTB.txt
      File size:
      8.5 KB
      Views:
      6
  11. dckeks

    dckeks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,369
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Yes, it looks good. As I suspected, we need to make some changes for your network to work. I will be with you shortly to describe the steps necessary. Please provide the exact brand and model of your range extender so I can determine the best way to solve your probem
     
  12. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    9,924
    First Name:
    Allan
    I think you can set this up using the information in my previous post to log in to the repeater. I'll leave you to it now dckeks.
     
  13. boojake

    boojake Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    10

    This is a generic Wireless N, range extender. No model or brand is listed. It is the exact unit used in the you tube video by "managed allen" above in this thread.


     
  14. dckeks

    dckeks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,369
    First Name:
    Darrin
  15. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    9,924
    First Name:
    Allan
    I don't think any of that is necessary, if you watch the video from 3:10 onwards it shows how to set up the repeater, it doesn't need anything to be changed on the computer beforehand. Basically you log into the repeater from a browser and set the repeater itself to use an ip address that's compatible with the existing wireless network.

    Please watch the video and if you have any questions afterwards I will be happy to help.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1199940

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice