1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot Access System Settings in BIOS

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by keaggy220, Aug 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. keaggy220

    keaggy220 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    While in XP I deleted a partiain that had Fedora on it. I was using GRUB to do multi-boot. When I rebooted XP it booted to the GRUB command line. I rebooted and hit F12 to try to get to system settings and after I chose system settings it went right back to the GRUB command line. I rebooted again and hit F2 to get to system settings and it went straight to the GRUB command line again.

    I'm pretty sure I need to fix my MBR but, I can't change my settings to boot from my CD and I don't have a floppy drive.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    First question..

    Why is it you cannot change the first booot device ?

    Also, some mobos dont need to set the cdrom as first boot device to have the option to boot the bootable cd. Have you tried it ?


    -----------
    1. When the Recovery Console prompts you or which system you want to start type 1 and hit enter.

    2. After the Console has finished loading type in the following:
    fixmbr /device/harddisk0

    3. You'll see some warnings and just type y which answers yes to all of the prompts

    4. After that you can restart and you're back to using the default MS boot loader, booting to the right hard disk now.
     
  3. keaggy220

    keaggy220 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for the response. I got into windows by -

    rootnoverify (hd0,1)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
    boot

    ...at the GRUB command line

    I have tried to boot with the cd that Dell gave me, but it just goes to the command line and I have to retype the above to get to windows.

    When I hit F12 while the system is intially booting to access the different boot options and then type 6 (to get to system settings) and hit enter it still takes me to the crazy GRUB command line. I've also typed 1 to boot off system disk with the same results.
     
  4. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Are you sure its f12 and not f2 for your dell. My dell requires F2 to enter the bios.
     
  5. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    I did some digging around and here is what i found as a fix:


    Here are the directions on how to fix the Dell MBR so you can restore the Control-F11 at boot-up so you can restore your troubled PC to like new condition, as if you just received it new from Dell.
    The following is specific to Dell but is not specific to the machine or model.
    So it applies to any Dell PC, desktop or laptop.
    When you use Control-F11, you are restoring a disk image, you will lose everything on your C drive, so backup your files that you created before you proceed.
    You need 2 good blank floppy disks.
    One is for a Windows 98 boot disk. If you do not have one, download it for free from here:
    http://www.redbrick.dcu.ie/~huey/Downloads/boot98se.exe
    Double click this file so it will create the Windows 98 boot disk on your first floppy disk.
    If you already have a boot disk, then you only need one blank floppy disk.
    You MUST boot to DOS. If you follow my directions you will fix your problem in just minutes, like I did.

    Now download "Dsrfix.zip" from here: http://www.goodells.net/dellrestore/files/dsrfix.zip
    unzip these 4 files and copy them to the second floppy disk.
    This file and instructions are provided by Dan Goodell, his very helpful site is here:
    http://www.goodells.net/dellrestore/fixmbr.htm
    and more info is here:
    http://www.goodells.net/dellrestore/fixes.htm

    Now lets fix your Control-F11.
    Put the Windows 98 boot disk in your floppy drive (Drive A) and restart your PC, and from the Boot Menu select #2 Without CDROM support feature, as you do not need it, and you will boot up faster.
    When you are at the A prompt, replace the Windows boot disk with the second floppy disk, the one you copied the four files from the Dsrfix.zip file.
    1) Type:
    mbrsaver /s
    this will backup your existing MBR to "mbrsaver.bin" file to the floppy disk. Just a good idea in case something goes wrong and you can restore this MBR backup, by typing: mbrsaver /r mbrsaver.bin

    2) Next type:
    mbrsaver /r dellmbr.bin
    This will restore your MBR sector from the dellmbr.bin copy. You will be given a choice of which of the three parts of the sector you want to restore: the boot code, the Disk ID, and/or the partition table. Do not overwrite your partition table! Normally, you should not need to overwrite your Disk ID, either. So answer 'yes', 'no', 'no' to MBRsaver's three prompts, then confirm your choices by answering 'yes' to the final prompt.

    To make it easy and clear for you, here is what you will need to type:

    boot code : Y

    disk-id : N

    partition table : N

    write MBR sector now : Y



    You will now see: MBR sector restored successfully





    Now remove the floppy disk, reboot your PC, and when you see the blue Dell logo at boot up, just keep the Control key pressed down and once a second tap the F11 key.
     
  6. keaggy220

    keaggy220 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks again.

    I did try F2 and it gave me a message of hit F1 to continue or f2 for system settings. I hit F2 and nothing happened. I've tried it several times and still nothing. When I hit F1 it goes to the GRUB command line.

    I don't have a floppy drive so the solution posted doesn't work for me.

    I racking my brains!
     
  7. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Do you have any bootable cdroms that you can do a boot test on ?
     
  8. keaggy220

    keaggy220 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    I tired the disk that Dell gave me and it won't boot. I also tried the Fedora disk that I had installed on my system and that didn't work either..
     
  9. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    What model dell do you have ?
     
  10. keaggy220

    keaggy220 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Dimension 8300
     
  11. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Are you able to open the case and remove the cmos battery ? Are you familiar with doing anything like this ?..
     
  12. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Try this instead:

    Click Start- Shutdown- Shutdown- Ok or Click Start- Turn Off Computer- Turn Off
    * Turn on your computer, and watch the keyboard lights. As soon as they flash, press the F2 key
    * The message, Entering Setup should appear
    * Press the [Caps Lock], [Scroll Lock] and the [Num Lock] keys to light up all three lights on the keyboard
    * Press the [Alt] and [E] keys at the same time. The system will emit a beep tone to indicate that NVRAM has been cleared
    * Down arrow to Integrated Devices [press Enter]
    * Set everything to On except for USB Emulation which should be set for NO BOOT
    * Press the [Esc] key, and then [press Enter] to save the changes and reboot the system
     
  13. keaggy220

    keaggy220 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Okay - this is the message I got when I followed the directions in your last post.

    Alert! O/S Install Mode enabled. Amount of memory linited to 256MB. (I think this happened the last time I had access to system settings - I wanted to see what it would do.) Now my system runs slow because it's only taking advantage of 256MB of the Gig I have... Easily fixed once I get back in system settings...

    Then it says - Strike F1 key to continue , F2 to run the setup utility. I hit F2 and nothing happens. I hit F1 and go back to GRUB.

    I rebooted and tried again and at the screen where it says F1 to continue and F2 for setup I tried the caps, scroll and num lock and then pressed ALT and E at the same time and nothing happened.
     
  14. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Then your going to have to unplug the power, open the case, remove the cmos battery for about 5 minutes. Then replace and power up. If it asks to reset the system time then you know the reset has taken.
     
  15. keaggy220

    keaggy220 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    I'm currently running XP Home. Do you think the installation process of upgrading to XP Pro would change my MBR back to normal?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/390221

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice