1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot access USB hard drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by greenstick, Jan 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. greenstick

    greenstick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    I've searched previous posts and this type of problem seems quite common, but I haven't been able to find the solution.

    I've plugged an external 500Gb hard drive into my USB port. The hard drive has it's own power supply. I get a chime from the PC when I switch it on or off, and it's listed under Disk drives in Device Manager, but it doesn't show under Computer.

    When I click on it in Device Manager, it tells me the device is working properly

    Computer is a Compaq presario A900 running Vista. Hard drive is a Western Digital Caviar Green SATA drive.

    It shows up on Device Manager as: WDC WD50 00AADS-00S9B0.

    I would have attached a screen dump of Device Manager, but I couldn't work out how to to it (I pressed 'Alt' and the home/prt sc keys on the Device Manager screen and then ctrlV in this window, but nothing happened.

    Any help much appreciated.
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Howdy,

    Is this a new Had drive?
     
  3. greenstick

    greenstick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Yes - it's brand new and it's installed in a Dynamode USB 2.0 enclosure
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Does it showup in Disk Management as Unallocated space
     
  5. greenstick

    greenstick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    When you say Disk Management, is that the same as Device Manager? under the 'General' tab it says:

    Location: on USB Mass Storage device

    Is that what you mean?
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Sorry ...no it is not the same

    Go Start>>Right click Computer>>then Properties>>then Manage and on the left hand side click on Disk Management
     

    Attached Files:

  7. greenstick

    greenstick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Sorry, I'm probably being really thick, but when I select Computer and right click on Properties,, I get a screen that's headed up: >Control pane>System

    and the options in the blue bar on the right hand side are:

    Device manager
    Remote settings
    System Protection
    Advanced system settings

    I can't see a 'Manage' option
     
  8. greenstick

    greenstick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Sorry - that should have said the blue bar on the left hand side
     
  9. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Understood....

    My directions were not correct...try this Start>>Right click Computer then choose Manage and on the left hand side click on Disk Management


    Do not need to click on Properties...:)
     
  10. greenstick

    greenstick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    ok done that. It's unallocated
     
  11. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
  12. greenstick

    greenstick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    One last hurdle:

    When I finished going through the wizard I got the error message

    'The operation cannot be completed because the disk is not initialised'

    How do I initialise it?

    ps: once I've finished all this, will the hard drive work with another PC or will I have to go through the process again?
     
  13. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Does it give you the Option in Disk Management when you Right click on the Unallocated space to Format...if so do that and choose NTFS

    and after your done it should work on mostly all other PCs
     
  14. greenstick

    greenstick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    The only options are:

    New Simple Volume
    Properties
    Help

    So I click on New Simple Volume which starts the New Simple Volume Wizard.

    When I get to the Format Partition page in the wizard, NTFS is the default option.
     
  15. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/974633

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice