Cannot acquire IP address

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Goarmc

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
20
I can no longer access network/internet....appears to be hung up trying to acquire IP address. Have never had a problem until yesterday.

I tried the ipconfig/release, ipconfig/renew, have run various anti-virus and registry cleanup programs, turned off and removed anti-virus and security programs, disabled and enabled network adapters, but nothing has worked.

Here's my system info:

Model: DELL Dimension 5150

OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 4 Stepping 3
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 1022 Mb
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon X300/X550/X1050 Series, 128 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 147769 MB, Free - 8971 MB;
Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0RD203
Antivirus: None
Router: D-Link Air Plus Extreme DI-624
Modem: Motorola SB5101 Surfboard





Here is the ipconfig/all results:


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : GORD
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-3F-A8-23-10
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Motorola SURFboard SB5101 USB Cable Modem
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-17-EE-7F-79-41
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 99.230.224.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.71.255.198
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


I also noticed the the DHCP isn't running (although it looks like it says it is enabled above). I tried to start it wouldn't run because of problems with dependencies.


Any help would be much appreciated!!
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
First uf you find that your PC cannot obtain an IP address across any network adapter, ensure that the DHCP service is running in services.msc. Start -> Run -> Type “services.msc” and hit OK. -> Find DHCP service and ensure it is running not just enabled make sure its "started". If it is, try restarting it. If it won’t start, NetBIOS over TCP/IP may be disabled. Check for these- they all need to be started.


If that doesn't seem to be the issue follow my next suggestion:


You have to reset your internet protocol.
Follow these steps:
Open command prompt, click start > run as> in the open box type: cmd
(hit enter)
When the cmd screen appears type: netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt
OR Type: netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt
(hit enter)

Then reboot.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
6
Have you tried system restore already? Revert to the date prior to the problem. In most cases, it can solve connectivity issues.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
Have you tried system restore already? Revert to the date prior to the problem. In most cases, it can solve connectivity issues.
She's correct- especially if some how the DHCP service client or NetBIOS over TCP/IP was some how stopped or disabled. So now you have 3 solutions. Let us know if any of our suggestions helped.
 

Goarmc

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
20
DHCP Client will not start (I assume that DHCP Client and just DHCP are the same right??). Error message - "Error 1075: The dependency service does not exist or has been marked for deletion."

I do not see NetBIOS over TCP/IP in the list of services. I see TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper and TCP/IP Print server, but not NetBIOS over TCP/IP.

I tried to reset internet protocol as you indicated, reboot system, but no success. Still failing to acquire ip address and still cannot start DHCP Client (same error message as above).

And, I did try a System Restore (both regular and Safe Mode) but it does not work.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
DHCP client and DHCP are the same yes and it won't start because the error you're receiving "Error 1075: The dependency service does not exist or has been marked for deletion." indicates another service that DHCP needs to run is disabled or deleted by an infection. Before I direct you to security/malware lets check to see if you even have the dependent files. DHCP Client in XP depends on: AFD, NetBios over TCP/IP, and TCP/IP Protocol Driver.
Open the System32/Driver folder and make sure that the three driver files are there: afd.sys , tcpip.sys, netbt.sys.
Let me know.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
I do not see NetBIOS over TCP/IP in the list of services. I see TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper and TCP/IP Print server, but not NetBIOS over TCP/IP.
Did you start the service? Let's make this easier we're going to enable all services if that doesn't work I will direct you to security because if this doesn't work you most likely have an infection.

To enable all services:

Click Start > Run > Type: msconfig
Click OK
Look for the tab that says "Services" when you open that tab click on "ENABLE ALL" click OK and close.

It will tell you to restart the computer Click yes and HOPEFULLY it will work if not I'm afraid it's a malware issue
 

Goarmc

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
20
I found all 3 files are in the System32/Driver folder (afd.sys , tcpip.sys, netbt.sys).

I "Enabled All" in the "Services" folder- they were already all enabled, so I disabled all and then enabled all to make sure. After reboot still not acquiring ip address.......
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
First now that we enabled all services run another windows IP configuration and post your ipconfig/all results in here.

While your doing that 2 questions:
Your positive you don't have 2 networks clashing? Did you ever try creating a static IP?

It could be the router...
 

Goarmc

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
20
Here are the ipconfig/all results:


Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : GORD
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Motorola SURFboard SB5101 USB Cable Modem
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-17-EE-7F-79-41
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 99.230.224.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.71.255.198
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-3F-A8-23-10
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


Regarding 2 networks clashing, I have no idea to be honest. In fact, I'm not really sure what that means. I have never tried to create a static IP and don't know how.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
What I meant 2 networks DSL and wireless running at the same time. I'm reviewing you're results, next we'll try to create a static IP (I'll walk you through it) and if that doesn't work it might be your router.
 

Goarmc

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
20
I do have wireless and DSL running here in the house, but the PC with the problems only has DSL (it doesn't have a wireless card etc). We use the wireless for our laptop, tablets, Wii etc but not the PC.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
Okay..Let's start NetBios Over Tcpip: Click start > Run > Type: services.msc
When the service window opens scroll down to "TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper" double click or right click and select "properties". When the window appears look down where it says "disabled" select the drop down menu and select "automatic" and click ok. On the top of the service window it will give you the option to start the service. Then Restart and I need you to run a ipconfig report for me again.
 

Goarmc

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
20
It was already set to automatic, so I disabled and reset to Automatic.

TCP/IP NetBIOS will not start after selecting automatic.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
This just occurred right? When you said you tried system restore did you mean it wouldn't let you? Or you did you restore to a later date and still have this issue?
Open control panel>network connection>select your connection>check its properties>then click on the networkinghttp://www.fixya.com/support/t2156377-limited_or_no_connectivity_not_renew# tab>>open internet protocols>then make sure "obtain an IP address automatically" is selected.

Also check device manager again and make sure you're not missing any drivers and if you have a wireless router adapter installed- uninstall it. I see you have a D-link Router.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top