Cannot allow my Vista PC to share connection

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Bazza1017

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
4
Recently i bought an xbox 360, and i am trying to connect it to the internet by using my Vista PC.

my PC is wirelessly connected to the internet, and i am trying to connect the xbox to the internet through an ethenet cable.

When trying to share my internet connection, i get the error message that is in the attachment


Any help is much appriciated, and thank you in advance
 

Attachments

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Well, first off, if you connect that Vista machine to a wireless router, I'd bridge the connections and not use ICS anyway.

However, since you're getting an error, I'd try this.

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

Bazza1017

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
4
Thanks for the reply,

I have done what you said to do in above, however i still cannot make it share the connection and am getting the same error message.
Is there anything else that you can suggest,

and again, thank you in advance :)
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,408
When you bridge the connections you do not need and do not want to enable ICS.

Show us the following and be sure to tell us whether you have the connections bridged w/o ICS or if you are attempting ICS w/o bridge.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

Bazza1017

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
4
OK, Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Windows\system32>IPCONFIG /ALL
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Sam-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Ethernet adapter Network Bridge:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : MAC Bridge Miniport
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-0D-88-93-39-E6
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1595:82f9:201d:93dd%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 20 September 2008 22:34:03
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 23 September 2008 22:34:03
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184687968
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
C:\Windows\system32>


i think is what you are after - now also however...when i seem to bridge it, it just disconnects my PC from the internet...and works again when its unbridged :S.

Thanks for your time, its much appriciated
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,408
Yes, that's what I wanted to see.

We now know why ICS doesn't work for you--your router has LAN address 192.168.0.1 and that is what Windows uses for the address for the second connection. To make ICS work you would have to change the router to use a different subnet; for example, 192.168.3.x.

I don't understand why you lose internet connection when bridging unless the ethernet connection has a static IP address, the XBOX is connected and has a static IP address, or the router has a bug. Please check the first two; everything should be 'obtain IP auto' and 'obtain DNS auto.'

If you made any changes as a result of the previous paragraph please Restart and try the bridge again.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top