Cannot change registered name or glitch-freely remove an admin acount

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sndembin

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
6
Okay, when I've tried the other forums they instructed me to go through this process:

My Computer/HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software/Microsoft/WIndows

And in the right pane there is supposed to be a title, Registered Name, but there is not. All I have is stuff such as accessories, CommonFilesDir, devicepath,mediapath, etc.

What do I do?
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
Option 1.
Right click My Computer and select Manage from the menu.
In Computer Management, click on Local Users and Groups.
Double click on the Users folder in the right hand pane.
Right click on Administrator and select Rename from the menu.

Option 2.
Go to Control Panel and open the Administrative Tools folder.
Double click on Local Security Policy.
In the Local Security Settings console, click on the + signs in the left hand
pane to arrive at the following location.
Security Settings -> Local Policies -> Security Options.
In the right hand pane, right click on Accounts: Rename Administrator Account.
Select Properties from the menu.
Enter whatever name you want in the dialog.
Click OK.
Close the console and see if you can now log on using the new account name.

Note: If you're using the Welcome screen, you'll need to hit Ctrl + Alt + Del
twice to bring up the Logon to Windows dialog in order to logon with this
renamed "Administrator" account.
 

sndembin

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
6
I need to remove them as administrators so they stop downloading viruses. But te solution for changing who the computer is registered to wasn't it. Help?
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,206
log on as admin and change their account in the GUI. That's what it's there for.
 

sndembin

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
6
But thats not working. Every time i do that and then they try to access their profile only the background comes up, not even the start bar at the bottom. I have to crl+alt+delete just to make them able to log out. I know how to work the basics in a computer. I dont know how to fix that.
 

sndembin

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
6
That still didn't work. There isn't even an option "Registered owner" anywhere
 

Ent

Josiah
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
5,467
What is your primary objective in this? Are you trying to change the registered name, or to remove admin privileges from certain accounts?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
The registered owner has nothing to do with who the admin is or who has administrative privileges. All you need to is change them from an admin user to a limited user. Since there is probably a virus issue the virus itself may have done something to not allow you to make changes.
 

Ent

Josiah
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
5,467
I agree with Rockn, you need to take the viruses out before you can secure yourself against further infections. I suggest that you report this post and ask for it to be moved to the antimalware forum.
 

sndembin

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
6
I realize they have nothing to do with one another. I can't change the admin right now but i do need to change the registered owner and all the links don't help. the process they each keep sending me through doesn't ever show me "Registered Owner". I've looked through everything and its not anywhere.
 

Ent

Josiah
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
5,467
Why don't you open regedit and do a registry search for the name that is currently registered as the owner. You can check back here to make sure it's the right one.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
I agree with Rockn, you need to take the viruses out before you can secure yourself against further infections. I suggest that you report this post and ask for it to be moved to the antimalware forum.

I agree as well. I don't see why it's not allowing you to change permissions it might be an infection.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top