1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot communicate w/ Primary DNS server error

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by blakkenshin, Dec 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blakkenshin

    blakkenshin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Hey all!

    Ok. So I've been having this problem for about 2wks now. I've tried to fix it myself & thought I did, but I still get this error message, "cannot communicate with primary dns server 209.18.47.61". It's amazing how I'm on right now considering I get dced almost on a daily basis, w/ most days being for hours. I'm on a wired connection right now, but even then i get the same message. Usually when I'm on it's fine but last night and earlier today I just kept constantly getting dced over and over again.

    I'd really like to know how to permanently fix this problem cause it's quite annoying to deal w/every single day. ^_^


    I'm pretty sure your gonna want my ipconfig info so here it is:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\DJ Marik>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DJMarik-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : insight.rr.com

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : insight.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-54-2E-D7-A8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d57e:162a:6d1f:13d7%15(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.103(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, December 21, 2010 6:57:36 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 6:57:35 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 301998932
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-C2-BF-0C-00-1E-EC-20-B9-D9

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : insight.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-5D-1B-7C-5E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.insight.rr.com
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\DJ Marik>
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    would you post the ipconfig /all again when it disconnects (save in notepad and then post when you get the internet back again)
    also - post all the ping tests below when its working and then repeat when it fails

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping 192.168.1.1
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. blakkenshin

    blakkenshin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    should i just paste the ping tests now since it's working?
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yes please - lets see all the tests in a working condition then we have a reference for when it disconnects to compare
     
  5. blakkenshin

    blakkenshin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    ipconfig/all (working)

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\DJ Marik>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DJMarik-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : insight.rr.com

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : insight.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-54-2E-D7-A8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : insight.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-5D-1B-7C-5E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f878:4b92:5eac:9c61%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, December 21, 2010 6:39:34 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, December 23, 2010 1:36:57 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 151003485
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-C2-BF-0C-00-1E-EC-20-B9-D9

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.insight.rr.com
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\DJ Marik>
    ---------------------------------------------------
    Ping results (working)

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\DJ Marik>Ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\Users\DJ Marik>Ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [72.14.204.99] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 72.14.204.99: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.99: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.99: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.99: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 72.14.204.99:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 29ms, Maximum = 39ms, Average = 33ms

    C:\Users\DJ Marik>Ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=49

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 39ms, Maximum = 45ms, Average = 40ms

    C:\Users\DJ Marik>
     
  6. blakkenshin

    blakkenshin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    here's it when its not working.

    ipconfig/all (not working)

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\DJ Marik>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DJMarik-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : insight.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-54-2E-D7-A8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : insight.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-5D-1B-7C-5E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.insight.rr.com
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\DJ Marik>
    ----------------------------------
    Ping (not working)

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\DJ Marik>Ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.103: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.103: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.103: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.103: Destination host unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

    C:\Users\DJ Marik>Ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .

    C:\Users\DJ Marik>Ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=49

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 41ms, Maximum = 53ms, Average = 45ms

    C:\Users\DJ Marik>
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    OK so you have lost the ip from the router

    can you connect to the router with cable and see if it then disconnects

    anything else connected by wireless and still working all OK

    also lets see an xirrus screen shot


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. blakkenshin

    blakkenshin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Xirrus_Rookard.jpg

    here's my xirrus screen shot. rookard is my connection.
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i would log into the router and change the wireless to use channel 1 - you have another strong signal on channel 6
     
  10. blakkenshin

    blakkenshin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    how would i do that exactly?
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    make and model of the router ?

    you probably need to use
    192.168.1.1
    in an internet explorer address bar
    that should open the router login screen
    now depending on make and model of router - you may need to use admin in both username and password - but sometimes just in one field depends on make and model

    then goto the wireless section and change the wireless channel to use 1

    what about the connection with cable ??
     
  12. blakkenshin

    blakkenshin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    well i finally changed it. as for wired connection it's hard to be on it cause the router is down stairs and my laptop is always upstairs. but i changed it to ch 1. is there anything else i should do?
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    se if it disconnects again with channel 1 - it may take longer but if we do one thing at a time then at least you know what fixed it

    so the next things i would do
    Update the Network adapter on the PC - should be available from the support site of the PC manufacturers webpage
    Remove the security on wireless and see if that makes a difference
     
  14. blakkenshin

    blakkenshin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    i think my network card was updated but u said i had a strong connection on ch 6? it was on 6. so how would i know exactly which ch has the better ch.?
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    You have another stron signal on channel 6 - look at the xirrus - it shows all the signals broadcast and colour codes them green/yellow/red

    you can see two green signals both on channel 6 - so likely to interfere hence the suggestion to change to 1
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/969901

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice