1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot communicate with primary DNS server

Discussion in 'Networking' started by brazzy1, Dec 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brazzy1

    brazzy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Hey guys - I am not an experienced user and need help. I am running Windows Vista on a Gateway laptop and am trying to hook wireless to a Linksys WRT54G-G router. The internet connection is fine through the DSL modem furnished bt AT&T, but will not go through router even using ethernet connection. Please help!!
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What's the exact make/model of the AT&T DSL modem? When connected directly to the modem, please post this.


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. brazzy1

    brazzy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Braz>IPCONFIG /ALL
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Braz-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : launchmodem.com
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : launchmodem.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187S Wireless LAN PCIE Networ
    k Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-5F-36-64-35
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d941:5c30:4dec:942%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.108(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 18, 2009 11:49:25 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, December 20, 2009 1:12:07 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184558175
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-88-D6-CD-00-E0-B8-FB-72-CB
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : launchmodem.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
    et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-B8-EA-40-DD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c76:ec7e:f449:cac0%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 19, 2009 1:26:52 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, December 20, 2009 8:51:23 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251715768
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-88-D6-CD-00-E0-B8-FB-72-CB
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    192.168.1.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : launchmodem.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.launchmodem.com
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\Braz>
     
  4. brazzy1

    brazzy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    AT&T DSL modem is a Westell DSL2 + Router
    model - E90-610030-06
     
  5. brazzy1

    brazzy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    I have read many threads on many sights and this forum seems to be the most helpful with the most knowlegeable support group. Thank you guys in advance for any help!!
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,978
    First Name:
    Terry
    The Westell DSL2 + Router and the Linksys both are using the 192.168.1.x subnet for LAN, which is why internet access is not working through the Linksys. You have three choices.

    1. Change the LAN addresses used by one of the routers; e.g., to 192.168.3.x.

    2. Put the Westell DSL2 + Router into a mode (bridge, bypass, ...) where it will work as a modem only. You then may have to configure the Linksys's WAN section to use PPPoE and your account and password.

    3. JohnWill's procedure (Aug. 30, 2008) for configuring a secondary router as a switch and, optionally, wireless access point follows.

    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.

    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. [You will not need a cross-over cable if one of the "routers" is a computer.] Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

    For reference, here's a link to a Typical example config using a Netgear router
     
  7. brazzy1

    brazzy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    I understand that the AT&T modem is serving as a router as well. How do I change the LAN address of the Linksys router?
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    It's on the LAN configuration screen for the web based setup of the router.
     
  9. brazzy1

    brazzy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Thank you I will try that change first.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/886865

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice