1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot connect 2 computers simultaneously

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dalew65, Jan 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dalew65

    dalew65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Up until today I have had 2 computers on my wireless network, an HP desk top and a HP laptop both running Vista. I have a Netgear router. I've never had a problem with accessing the internet. I just purchase a Toshiba laptop with windows 7 giving me a total of 3 computers on the network.
    Now I can't get both laptops to access the internet at the same time.
    The desktop pc will connect fine with either laptop connected but I'm unable to get both laptops to work simultaneously.
    I can get the hp laptop to connect with the other 2 if I connect directly into the router however that configuration does not work if I connect directly with the Toshiba. I hope this is not to confusing.

    Basiclly the desktop works no matter what but the 2 laptops will only connect to the internet if the other one of them is turned off.

    Any help would be much appreciated

    Dale
     
  2. sysctls

    sysctls

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Are you still having this problem? Do you get any errors when you have both laptops hooked wirelessly WITHOUT the desktop? Also when you go at it again, run a 'ipconfig' on each machine and see if its grabbing an IP assuming you are using DHCP on the router
     
  3. warrior19

    warrior19

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    984
    is there a chance the DHCP range of ip addresses on you router is in a range of 2. very odd to be setup that way. please post the model of router and we can help you look at this.

    also to prove this can you do a Start-run-cmd-ipconfig/all.

    post the results here.

    have you switched off the desktop and tried just both laptops. if that worked it would prove the 2 ip address range theory i am suggesting.
     
  4. sysctls

    sysctls

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    was thinking the same way....but 2 IP address range? if thats the case, the router was prolly supplied by an ISP with there own *special* firmware...:)
     
  5. warrior19

    warrior19

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    984
    yes very odd unless as you say the isp firmware is locked down or the setup is two static public ip addresses instead of nat.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's see this for a working computer on that connection.


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  7. dalew65

    dalew65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    the router is a Netgear Range max wpn824 v2

    I turned the desktop off and i was able to connect with the 2 laptops. when I started the desktop back on it would not connect. So it appears I can only have 2 computers connected at a time. I installed the router about 2 years ago.

    any suggestions now??
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I'd suggest you read and respond to my previous post. :)
     
  9. dalew65

    dalew65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks John Will I hope this will help

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Mom's Computer>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MomsComputer-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3A-33-8B-DE
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5459:3861:b0e1:7a97%9(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 07, 2010 4:40:03 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 08, 2010 4:40:03 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-12-3C-72
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{07B64418-8826-4494-9095-8A02C7C2E
    C63}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{78D42F2B-5E92-49FB-B0FD-A0454C7B0
    1D9}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e50:3009:189a:3f57:fefd(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3009:189a:3f57:fefd%10(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\Mom's Computer>
     
  10. sysctls

    sysctls

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    do you know how to log into the router and check the dhcp settings?
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Enter 192.168.1.1 into the IE address bar and enter the setup for the router.

    The default name is admin and the default password is password.

    Here's the user's manual for your router: Netgear WPN824 Reference.

    Check and report the DHCP server address range.
     
  12. dalew65

    dalew65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    DHCP Server


    Starting IP Address 192.168.1.2

    Ending IP Address 192.168.1.254

    I don't know if this matters but I noticed this and it seemed odd, There are 2 device names that are the same and the third device listed does not have a IP ADDRESS, could this be part of the problem, if so how do i fix it??

    Attached Devices

    # IPAddress Device Name
    1 192.168.1.2 MOMSCOMPUTER-PC

    2 192.168.1.3 PC

    3 - PC

    4 192.168.1.4 WII
     
  13. sysctls

    sysctls

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    hmm are some of the devices using static ips? make sure all the computers are set to receive there IP and information through DHCP
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That appears to be a wireless connection from whatever computer/device is named PC. Perhaps it's because you haven't actually connected and entered the encryption key?
     
  15. dalew65

    dalew65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Any other advise as to how to solve this problem??
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/891966

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice