1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot connect laptop to Internet through Belkin N+ Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by hfranklin2, Aug 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hfranklin2

    hfranklin2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Hi, I'm having problems getting my laptop to connect to my router. I am able to connect through a wired connection to another desktop computer, but I cannot get a connection on my laptop wireless or wired. I am able to connect my laptop to the modem directly. When I try connecting my laptop to my router most of the time I see "Unidentified Network" and "Access: Local Only".

    After typing in command prompt the command /ipconfig I'm given:

    Autoconfig... :169.254.13.191
    Subnet...:255.255.0.0

    I'm not sure what to do. I've have tried restarting my router even as far as resteting to factory settings and still i recieve the same message.

    I have a feeling it isn't a router problem as it is my laptop's problem. I recently had a computer friend reinstall my network driver because I wasn't able to connect my laptop to any thing.

    Before the reinstallment of the driver I was able to connect to the router wirelessly, but now I can't even do that!

    I could really use some help, I need to get my WoW fix soon! :eek:
     
  2. oksteve

    oksteve

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    938
    you could "roll back" the driver to the previous one ?

    In the Device Manager click Network Adapters and right each one at a time.
    Choose Properties then Driver tab and click roll back driver.
    If that option is greyed go to the next adapter and see if you can roll back that one. Then restart.

    If doing this fails to get you online as before then go back in Network adapters and in the Driver tab select update drivers , then restart.

    And welcome to the wild and wonderful TSG :)
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,931
    does it connect to internet OK like this ?
    anything else connected to the router and working OK?

    Is it possible to copy anything back to this forum

    the full ipconfig /all - see below

    also try a tcp reset - see below

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. hfranklin2

    hfranklin2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Yes I can connect to the internet through my modem just fine on my laptop

    Yes I have one other desktop connected to the internet through the router, which is what I'm using to respond.

    I have a screenshot of the ipconfig command in command prompt:

    I tried the tcp reset commands and no luck on getting them to work.

    If you need more information other than the screenshot please let me know
     

    Attached Files:

  5. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    You appear to have a good wired connection.And I am assuming this is from the "non working pc" ?
    Try these pings :
    From a Johnwill post on the Networking Forum


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  6. hfranklin2

    hfranklin2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    I just tried to update my driver with success of updating and now I am seeing a yellow caution sign next to the driver description in DMG. Right now I cannot get my router or my modem to connect.
     
  7. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    And the error code in device manager for the adapter(s) ?
    Give us a shot of device manager:
    Let&#8217;s take a look at the status of the network adapters

    Device manager:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.
    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
    4. should be enabled and working properly.
    5. If error code,what is it ?

    It would be best if you could post a screen shot of Device Manager with the Network adapters and Other devices sections expanded.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  8. hfranklin2

    hfranklin2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Here is the screenshot as the dmg is shown right now
     

    Attached Files:

  9. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    This pretty much explains the error.And possible fixes
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/943104/
    Did you get these drivers from the laptop makers web site.?
    Make and model of laptop.If Dell also tag #
    In device manager for the adapter,give us the details of the driver installed.Name and version#
     
  10. hfranklin2

    hfranklin2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Apparently I was able to get everything working by restarting my laptop. I don't have the error any more and I'm now back to my original problem haha.

    Here is a screenshot of the ping information you asked for:
     

    Attached Files:

  11. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,931
    so back to original problem = cannot connect to router with Cable or Wireless
    But connecting directly to the modem it works
    CORRECT?

    You have a desktop connected by cable to the router which works
    post back an ipconfig /all - from the working desktop please
     
  12. hfranklin2

    hfranklin2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    That is correct, I can connect directly to the modem on my laptop but cannot connect to the internet through my router.

    Here is the information from the connected PC:
     

    Attached Files:

  13. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,931
    - would you describe the error
    Would you try in safemode with networking
    As the PC boots Tap F8
    Now with the PC connected by cable - see if it works
    would you also post back an ipconfig /all from the PC now
     
  14. hfranklin2

    hfranklin2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    In safemode now and still no internet connection through the router

    Here is the safemode information
     

    Attached Files:

  15. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,931
    from safe mode
    ping 192.168.2.1
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/942208