1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot Connect More Than One Computer to Wireless Access Point, After Switch to Cable

Discussion in 'Networking' started by acschneid, Jan 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. acschneid

    acschneid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Hello,

    I recently switched from DSL to cable. No issues on DSL. Since switching to cable, I haven't been able to connect more than one computer to the wireless access point at one time. I have three computers, one running W7, one on xp, and one on Vista. All three of the computers have been able to connect to the WAP when connecting alone.

    I am using a wap54g linksys access point. Setup is internet -- coax -- cable modem -- ethernet -- wireless access point

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ga.comcast.net.
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8445:3604:b2eb:fdc4
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 67.191.155.164
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 67.191.152.1

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ga.comcast.net.

    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ga.comcast.net.
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:1863:b303::1863:b303
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:43bf:9ba4::43bf:9ba4
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301

    Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.ga.comcast.net.:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ga.comcast.net.

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:c57:3ca9:bc40:645b
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c57:3ca9:bc40:645b
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,980
    First Name:
    Chuck
    I suspect that your old DSL modem had built in router capabilities and your new cable modem either does not have router capabilities or has them disabled and is operating as a simple bridge or gateway. In either case, the connecting computer is getting a public IP address assigned to it. Most residential broadband service comes with only one available (and usually dynamic) public IP address per customer.

    If possible you, should see if you can configure your modem to operate as a router with Network Address Translation (NAT). If not, you may need to replace your wireless access point with a wireless router.
     
  3. acschneid

    acschneid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks, you were right. I got a new router and it works fine.
     
  4. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,980
    First Name:
    Chuck
    You're welcome.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975136

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice