1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cannot connect sony bravia tv to internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ashkann, Apr 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ashkann

    ashkann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium , 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 350 @ 2.27GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3950 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 310M , 512 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 466557 MB, Free - 433371 MB;
    Motherboard: Sony Corporation, VAIO, N/A, N/A
    Antivirus: Norton Internet Security, Updated and Enabled

    i have sony bravia 3d with built in wireless lan and wifi. i have neatgear router which i connect to my wifi computer. now th problem is i get wifi on my computer and on my smartphone but when i try to connect my tv with the network settings it shows that it found the network but then at the last stage when it says "connect and save" after clicking that after a while it gives the following message
    wireless device : OK
    local access : failed
    Internet access : failed

    can you please help me with this
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,849
    Is your wireless network secure - try removing the wireless security on the router and see if the TV conects

    can we see an ipconfig /all from a working PC
    and then the network settings information ipaddress, dns , subnet, etc from the TV internet settings

    try and PING the ip address of the TV from a PC - see below PING


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown in the TV network settings - if for example the IPadress was 192.168.0.10 tbe the command would be PING 192.168.0.10 }
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
     
  3. ashkann

    ashkann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ashkan-VAIO
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8059 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 54-42-49-11-6D-37
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-DD-08-D8-87-81
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8b8:d8a9:9cd1:2d76%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 2:05:42 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:25:06 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 187466072
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-2B-C2-75-54-42-49-11-6D-37
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{FB53407B-9E9D-49DF-B851-B8A14CF67273}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:3894:3bd5:b4a0:7619(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3894:3bd5:b4a0:7619%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{B0EE257D-AFEF-4956-8BBC-3A2C71C409B8}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,849
    can we see te TV settings and ping as request in my last post
     
  5. ashkann

    ashkann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\ashkan>PING 192.168.15.3
    Pinging 192.168.15.3 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.15.3: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.15.3: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.15.3: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.15.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Ping statistics for 192.168.15.3:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms
    C:\Users\ashkan>
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,849
    can you describe how everything is connected together
    is this the TV IP address 192.168.15.3 - whats it connected to - the pc has a different IP 192.168.1.3
    I would expect the TV to be on the same IP if connected to the same router

    so we need full details- make and models
     
  7. ashkann

    ashkann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    yes this is the same tv address. i tried to connect it manually by typing the same ip address as pc but still i have the same problem. so when i did auto next time this was the tv ip address.

    also before it used to give me 2200 error now it doesnt.
     
  8. ashkann

    ashkann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    hi

    one more thing see i have sony computer
    clear network
    netgear router.
    sony tv
    and sony tv have lan access built in and wifi built in. so i am just letting you know that i have not attached any kind of wire from the tv to the pc. since they say it is wireless and built in lan and wifi.
    may be this would let you understand the problem little better.
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,849
    so have you set up the Sony TV to connect to the wireless and have you selected the correct wireless network - and is it set to automatcally obtain the network settings - i would expect to see an IP address on the TV of
    192.168.1.x
    where X will be a different number from the PC - probably something between 2 - 100

    would not expect to be 192.168.15.3 - I think the 15 should be a 1

    if you want to type manually - then NOT the same IP as the PC try these settings

    IP Address . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.200
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
     
  10. ashkann

    ashkann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    when i connect to network setup it says
    wifi protected setup was successful.
    i entered the pc settings as given by you and it says
    network connection successful

    thank you thank you thank you soooooooooooooo much
    i really appreciate your help and patience.
     
  11. ashkann

    ashkann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    hi

    i can watch the youtube videos but on my tv it has external inputs where pc is one of them when i try to click it it says available when device is connected.
    so what settings i need to choose
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,849
    the PC setting is to use the TV screen as a PC monitor and show what ever is on the PC Screen - you connect a VGA Connector from the PC Monitor output - Or the VGA output on the Laptop

    What you want to do is to stream from a media server on the network - not sure how you set that up on the Sony TV - whats the exact model and i can look up the manual - but somewhere on the TV settings should be the ability to see Media Servers on the home network
     
  13. ashkann

    ashkann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    i have sony 3d model #
    KDL-46NX810
     
  14. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    What exactly are you trying to do with the TV? You now have Internet access and can use that functionality to stream via the installed applications. Connecting a computer is entirely different. It just turns the TV into a display for the computer. That has nothing to do with the Internet connection on the TV.
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,849
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/991203