Cannot connect to a very specific website.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Nogmor

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
11
Hi!

I wasn't sure if this should go in the "web & Email" or the "networking" catagory, so I'll just post it here.

Ok, here's one heck of a weird problem: I cannot in any absolute way, connect to www.lockerz.com, including tracart, ping or whatnot.

hings I tried in my quest for an answer:

1) I checked the hosts file, its' not hijacked, heck im using mcaffee, nothing can pass it - and no, its' not the reason because i could go the website untill it stopped working for no apparent reason yesterday.

2) I checked alot of forums and nothing. nobody can figure it out. I reseted the windows' xp tcp/ip, I tried different DNS' (open dns, google dns).

3) I took my friends laptop and connected it directly to my socket to check if the ISP\IP are faulty, and no, the website works just fine on his laptop - which means the problem is my pc.

4) I tried removing the network adapter, LITTERALY out of the pc, reinstall it, and no, it still hasn't worked.

5) I reinstalled internet explorer, tried firefox, opera, chrome and safari, but still, this single website, doesn't load.

6) I even added the websites' own IP to my hosts file just incase my windows can't resolve the hostname on its own, and still it doesn't work.

Any help?

Thanks alot in advance...

P.S.
I do NOT want to reinstall win xp.. i really don't wanna go through the hell of reinstalling win xp...
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Try refreshing your DNS resolver cache by following these steps:

Click on Start > Run > type CMD

In the Command Prompt, type: ipconfig /flushdns

Reboot.

If no luck,

Log onto router settings, select Wan settings and change MTU to 1396 (but remember original number in case it doesn't work). Click apply.

If still no joy,

Try accessing your website through the following Web proxy:

http://anonymouse.org/anonwww.html
 

Nogmor

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
11
Try refreshing your DNS resolver cache by following these steps:

Click on Start > Run > type CMD

In the Command Prompt, type: ipconfig /flushdns

Reboot.

If no luck,

Log onto router settings, select Wan settings and change MTU to 1396 (but remember original number in case it doesn't work). Click apply.

If still no joy,

Try accessing your website through the following Web proxy:

http://anonymouse.org/anonwww.html
ok... I guess i havent streched enough how much I tried to solve it, ok, even more...:

I tried fushdns, tried /release /renew, and I can access the website through proxies, but it causes problems in their website which force me to only have to use my own IP to access it.

No, my IP is not blocked by them or my ISP, since I already tried to access the website from my friends laptop - which worked.

last important note,

my ISP is a university, and I have no router. that is, i connect to a socket in a wall in the dormitories which connects to the university's network. NO this is not the problem, since like I said, it works fine on another laptop. (and in a different room/socket - not my pc, but the website).

Any more ideas?
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

Click Start > Run > type CMD

In the Command Prompt, type in the bolded text, one command after the other, pressing Enter between each of them:

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Please click here to download and install version 2.0.2 of the HijackThis Installer.

Run it and select Do a system scan and save a logfile.

The log will be saved in Notepad. Copy and paste the log in your next post.

Do not fix anything
 

Nogmor

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
11
Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 19:42:07, on 27/04/2010
Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
F:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
F:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
F:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
F:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
F:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
F:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
F:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
F:\Program Files\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe <---- Plauseable virus? checked it.. not so. running google earth and suchlike.
F:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
F:\Program Files\VIA\VIAudioi\HDADeck\HDeck.exe
F:\Program Files\McAfee\VirusScan Enterprise\SHSTAT.EXE
F:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxtray.exe
F:\WINDOWS\system32\hkcmd.exe
F:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxpers.exe
F:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe
F:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Java Update\jusched.exe
F:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
F:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxsrvc.exe
F:\Program Files\McAfee\Common Framework\FrameworkService.exe
F:\Program Files\McAfee\VirusScan Enterprise\Mcshield.exe
F:\Program Files\McAfee\VirusScan Enterprise\VsTskMgr.exe
F:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
F:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
F:\Program Files\Opera\Opera10\opera.exe
F:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
F:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = about:blank
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = *.local
F2 - REG:system.ini: UserInit=Userinit.exe
O2 - BHO: IDM Helper - {0055C089-8582-441B-A0BF-17B458C2A3A8} - F:\Program Files\Internet Download Manager\IDMIECC.dll
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - F:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
O2 - BHO: scriptproxy - {7DB2D5A0-7241-4E79-B68D-6309F01C5231} - F:\Program Files\McAfee\VirusScan Enterprise\scriptcl.dll
O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - F:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: JQSIEStartDetectorImpl - {E7E6F031-17CE-4C07-BC86-EABFE594F69C} - F:\Program Files\Java\jre6\lib\deploy\jqs\ie\jqs_plugin.dll
O3 - Toolbar: RefresherBand Class - {B24BA06E-FB7B-4757-95C2-DC01125F750E} - F:\PROGRA~1\YREFRE~1\YREFRE~1.DLL
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HDAudDeck] F:\Program Files\VIA\VIAudioi\HDADeck\HDeck.exe 1
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ShStatEXE] "F:\Program Files\McAfee\VirusScan Enterprise\SHSTAT.EXE" /STANDALONE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SNCP106] F:\WINDOWS\vsncp106.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IgfxTray] F:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxtray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HotKeysCmds] F:\WINDOWS\system32\hkcmd.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Persistence] F:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxpers.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BluetoothAuthenticationAgent] rundll32.exe bthprops.cpl,,BluetoothAuthenticationAgent
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] "F:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Java Update\jusched.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] F:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] F:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] F:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] F:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'SYSTEM')
O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] F:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'Default user')
O8 - Extra context menu item: &&#1497;&#1510;&#1488; &#1500;- Microsoft Excel - res://F:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download all links with IDM - F:\Program Files\Internet Download Manager\IEGetAll.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download FLV video content with IDM - F:\Program Files\Internet Download Manager\IEGetVL.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download Video - http://www.viloader.net/addon.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download with IDM - F:\Program Files\Internet Download Manager\IEExt.htm
O9 - Extra button: &#1502;&#1495;&#1511;&#1512; - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - F:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - (no file)
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - F:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - F:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - F:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - F:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: f:\windows\system32\nwprovau.dll
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=39204
O16 - DPF: {3527C5BD-4A46-4362-94B6-12341D087A4B} - http://roadrunnerrecords.echospin.com/wizard/files/esWizard.cab
O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1247569723625
O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3} (MUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/muweb_site.cab?1247696989390
O16 - DPF: {814EA0DA-E0D9-4AA4-833C-A1A6D38E79E9} (DASWebDownload Class) - http://das.microsoft.com/activate/cab/x86/i486/NTANSI/retail/DASAct.cab
O16 - DPF: {E06E2E99-0AA1-11D4-ABA6-0060082AA75C} (GpcContainer Class) - https://freetrial.webex.com/client/T27L/webex/ieatgpc.cab
O16 - DPF: {E2883E8F-472F-4FB0-9522-AC9BF37916A7} - http://platformdl.adobe.com/NOS/getPlusPlus/1.6/gp.cab
O18 - Protocol: jpip - {B92DD248-E3D5-4A92-B311-C9B841681455} - F:\Program Files\LizardTech\Express View\expressview.dll
O18 - Protocol: sidlet - {B92DD248-E3D5-4A92-B311-C9B841681455} - F:\Program Files\LizardTech\Express View\expressview.dll
O18 - Protocol: skype4com - {FFC8B962-9B40-4DFF-9458-1830C7DD7F5D} - F:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\Skype\SKYPE4~1.DLL
O23 - Service: McAfee Framework Service (McAfeeFramework) - McAfee, Inc. - F:\Program Files\McAfee\Common Framework\FrameworkService.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee McShield (McShield) - McAfee, Inc. - F:\Program Files\McAfee\VirusScan Enterprise\Mcshield.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee Task Manager (McTaskManager) - McAfee, Inc. - F:\Program Files\McAfee\VirusScan Enterprise\VsTskMgr.exe

--
End of file - 7419 bytes



hope it helps. I skimmed through it and other than programs I recognize, I didn't see anything out of the ordinary...
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Nothing stands out from your log.

What about McAfee (antivirus and firewall)? Have you checked if the domain or IP address might be blocked in there?
 

Nogmor

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
11
yeha, shut down the mcaffee On-Access Scan, and no windows firewall - still nada.

still doesn't explain why only one single website won't load when it has, just a few days ago..
 

Nogmor

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
11
well, i tried all three numbers, but apparently, the DrTcp, can't seem to figure out the actual numbers..

it could be this, but it doesn't seem like it....

ach.... I'll reinstall sometime.. I just know it.

thanks for your help though.. if you come up with any other ideas I'll be happy.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
DrTCP won't show you any MTU value if none is set in the registry already. It creates the ones you want.

It uses the following registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters

In the right-hand pane, create the new DWORD value MTU.

The normal values are:

576 - Dial-up Connections
1492 - PPPoE Broadband Connections
1500 - Ethernet, DSL and Cable Broadband Connections

Perhaps you could try other values until something gives?
 

Nogmor

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
11
well, i tried all three numbers, and im not exactly sure what I should try...

I did understand i need to restart each time, so it'll be a pain to try random numbers....
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top