Cannot connect to any network on neither laptop.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

norarose88

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
10
I have a Toshiba laptop with Vista and an HP laptop with XP...neither of which will connect to multiple connections. There's a home connection and one thru a Verizon MiFi. I thought the latest AVG update caused it so I uninstalled on HP and no change. It's neither Chrome or FireFox connecting either. Thanks.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,478
can we see an ipconfig /all and ping tests

you may need to use the avg removal tool - see below



------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router the next two
Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet , one by name and one by number which checks that the dns is working

------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------

AVG Removal Tools

http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities



--------------------------------------------------------------
 

norarose88

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
10
It might be good to know, I'm clueless on computer language. I the orblem just started today and was fine yesterday. My only connection is my cell phone so I can't use anything internet related on my laptop.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,478
try a system restore

start>
programs>
accessories>
system tools>
system restore >

choose a date before the problem
 

norarose88

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
10
I did a restore. Nothing. -_- on either machine. Is there something specific I can post from that ipconfig for you?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,478
details of the connection - make and model of router , wireless or cabled or both
what else works ok
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,478
connect one of the pcs in safe mode also do a full power cycle
------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to power cycle

“power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
  • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
  • Wait at least 30 seconds.
  • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
  • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
  • Next switch on the router (if a seperate device ) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
  • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
------------------------------------------------------------------------



------------------------------------------------------------------------
Safemode with networking
with a cable connected from PC to router
check the cable - see if there is a light on the router accosiated with the cable port used , also check if you have a green/yellow light on the PC LAN port
- try safemode with networking
as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
safemode with networking - see if that works
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

norarose88

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
10
:( its not a router. It's a little wireless device thru my roommates cell phone plan. There's no cables except a charger.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
The MiFi is a router. If nothing connects to the internet through the MiFi, then there's something wrong with it. Is the bill paid? Did you log into to verify you're getting an IP address?
 

norarose88

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
10
It's not just MiFi we tried the neighbors internet too. It's functional on my roommates laptop and was on mine until I woke up this morning. -_ - I'm getting the CANNOT CONNECT WITH PRIMARY DNS SERVER (208.67.222.222)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top