1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot connect to any network on neither laptop.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by norarose88, Nov 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. norarose88

    norarose88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    I have a Toshiba laptop with Vista and an HP laptop with XP...neither of which will connect to multiple connections. There's a home connection and one thru a Verizon MiFi. I thought the latest AVG update caused it so I uninstalled on HP and no change. It's neither Chrome or FireFox connecting either. Thanks.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an ipconfig /all and ping tests

    you may need to use the avg removal tool - see below



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    --------------------------------------------------------------

    AVG Removal Tools

    http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities



    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. norarose88

    norarose88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    It might be good to know, I'm clueless on computer language. I the orblem just started today and was fine yesterday. My only connection is my cell phone so I can't use anything internet related on my laptop.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try a system restore

    start>
    programs>
    accessories>
    system tools>
    system restore >

    choose a date before the problem
     
  5. norarose88

    norarose88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    I did a restore. Nothing. -_- on either machine. Is there something specific I can post from that ipconfig for you?
     
  6. norarose88

    norarose88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    details of the connection - make and model of router , wireless or cabled or both
    what else works ok
     
  8. norarose88

    norarose88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    It's a Toshiba A305-S6872 and a Verizon MiFi 4g LTE
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    connect one of the pcs in safe mode also do a full power cycle
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to power cycle

    “power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
    • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
    • Wait at least 30 seconds.
    • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
    • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Next switch on the router (if a seperate device ) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Safemode with networking
    with a cable connected from PC to router
    check the cable - see if there is a light on the router accosiated with the cable port used , also check if you have a green/yellow light on the PC LAN port
    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. norarose88

    norarose88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    :( its not a router. It's a little wireless device thru my roommates cell phone plan. There's no cables except a charger.
     
  11. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    The MiFi is a router. If nothing connects to the internet through the MiFi, then there's something wrong with it. Is the bill paid? Did you log into to verify you're getting an IP address?
     
  12. norarose88

    norarose88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    It's not just MiFi we tried the neighbors internet too. It's functional on my roommates laptop and was on mine until I woke up this morning. -_ - I'm getting the CANNOT CONNECT WITH PRIMARY DNS SERVER (208.67.222.222)
     
  13. norarose88

    norarose88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    It says diagnostics pinged the remote host but did not recieve a response.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1026167

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice