1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot connect to internet by wireless: DHCP server details missing in ipconfig

Discussion in 'Networking' started by vasudhachhokra, Jun 10, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vasudhachhokra

    vasudhachhokra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Hi,

    I am getting this error while I was able to connect to same network in the morning.
    Issue seems to be with default gateway / DHCP even though ipv4 & ipv6 are set to dynamic. Below are ipconfig log:


    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : mshome.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-ED-B9-99-64-39
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a5fb:486d:183b:3166%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.137.247(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, 11 June, 2014 2:27:40 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, 18 June, 2014 2:47:39 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::225:5eff:fe8d:581c%13
    192.168.137.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.137.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


    Please please help.
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    61,453
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Exactly what error message are you getting? It looks like the DHCP server assigned your computer a private IP address of 192.168.137.247, which is within the 255.255.255.0 sub-net mask range of a router with a private IP address of 192.168.137.1.

    The above information suggests that you have a working connection to the router. It is possible that the router is blocking your connection to the Internet for one reason or another. Are you able to access the router's administration pages, assuming it has a web browser based interface?

    EDIT: Forgetting my manners. Hi and welcome to TSG.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,472
    First Name:
    Terry
    Or of a computer running a recent Windows using ICS. :)
     
  4. vasudhachhokra

    vasudhachhokra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    The error is "Wireless network connection doesn't have a valid ip configuration"


    The strange part is I was able to connect it in the morning yesterday. But it started giving this error with No Internet Access in the evening.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,472
    First Name:
    Terry
    What OS?
     
  6. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    61,453
    First Name:
    Chuck
    If you have not all ready tried this, turn off your wireless router or access point for a half minute or so and turn it back on.

    Are there any other devices wired or connecting wirelessly to your wireless router or access point? Are they experiencing the same kind of problem?

    What is the brand and model number of your wireless router or access point?
     
  7. vasudhachhokra

    vasudhachhokra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    First of all thank you Chuck & Terrynet for replying to my thread.


    Chuck: Tried it. Even tried those netsh commands, Removed and added the network. But still no success. Yes there are others using the same wireless network but it is working fine for them. I am currently out of my place. Will publish details of router tomorrow.


    Terry Net:- Windows 7
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,472
    First Name:
    Terry
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista and 7 and 8.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    See if the ipconfig /all is any different.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1127630

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice