cannot connect to internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jadan

Thread Starter
Joined
May 10, 2004
Messages
123
Hi

I have a Samsung laptop running windows 7 home premium.
Although I have always been able to connect wirelessly to the internet, as of a week ago, I cannot connect to internet.
It does connect to the router but not to internet.
The router is fine as I do connect no problem with another laptop.
I notice that in profile network, I have Public ( current profile) and cannot change it to Home.
Not sure if this is the cause,
Please help

Thanks

Jadan
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,478
What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc

would you post the following tests when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.
Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

For Windows 8
To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
Hold the Windows key and press R

Now type CMD

Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

For Windows 8
To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
Hold the Windows key and press R

Now type CMD

then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

In the command prompt window that opens

Type the following command
Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 98.139.183.24
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router.
The next two Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet. google is to test by name and the ping test using a number is checking that a connection exists without DNS.
these tests then confirm if there is a dns issue on the connection.



if you see on the results a
"general Failure"
PING: transmit failed. General failure.
This sometimes means a firewall issue
What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc


------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Jadan

Thread Starter
Joined
May 10, 2004
Messages
123
hi thanks for prompt reply.
I cannot connect to the internet at all.
I use AVG
I am sending the Ipconfig from another computer.
here it is:
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : user-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : lan

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 2A-39-DF-DC-2A-95
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E8-39-DF-DC-2A-95
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::248d:66aa:beee:404e%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.109(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 23 April 2015 17:14:11
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 24 April 2015 18:40:12
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 350763487
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-35-B0-A1-00-24-54-DF-E9-FE
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-54-DF-E9-FE
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{F02418AB-9B17-4438-9EA8-67363FE5F3D4}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 18:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.lan:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

Jadan

Thread Starter
Joined
May 10, 2004
Messages
123
icrosoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\user>ping 192.168.1.254

Pinging 192.168.1.254 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.254:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 4ms, Average = 2ms

C:\Users\user>

C:\Users\user>ping google.com

Pinging google.com [216.58.210.14] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 216.58.210.14: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=56
Reply from 216.58.210.14: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=56
Reply from 216.58.210.14: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=56
Reply from 216.58.210.14: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 216.58.210.14:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 44ms, Maximum = 48ms, Average = 46ms

C:\Users\user>

C:\Users\user>ping 98.139.183.24

Pinging 98.139.183.24 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=136ms TTL=51
Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=136ms TTL=51
Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=122ms TTL=51
Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=141ms TTL=51

Ping statistics for 98.139.183.24:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 122ms, Maximum = 141ms, Average = 133ms

C:\Users\user>
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,478
those results show a good connection to the internet

I assume you copied the results taken from the PC that does not work onto the working PC correct

Remove AVG

AVG Removal Tools
http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities
http://www.avg.com/ww-en/utilities

> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2015 32 & 64 bit
http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities

> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2013 and 2014 http://www.avg.com/tools#tba2 - > on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2012 http://www.avg.com/tools2012.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2011 http://www.avg.com/tools2011.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 9.0 http://www.avg.com/tools9.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 8.5 http://www.avg.com/tools8.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
 

Jadan

Thread Starter
Joined
May 10, 2004
Messages
123
Thank you Wayne,
I have now noticed that the laptop is connected to internet , although the icon on the bottom right task bar indicates the network is not connected.
Also when I open the Network and Sharing Center, it also says " you are currently not connected to any networks" and when I click on "see full map" an error comes up saying: " Windows cannot create the network map because the network's location type is Public."
I have tried changing the network profile from Public to Home, but there is no way I can change it.
Any ideas on this issue?
Thanks again

Jadan
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,478
remove the wireless profile

reconnect to the network - enter the key

it should ask you what type of network - Home/work/public


------------------------------------------------------------------------


How to remove Wireless Profiles - for Vista and Windows 7
http://uk.tp-link.com/article/?id=281
http://www.home-network-help.com/delete-wireless-network.html
- Vista/Windows7:
- delete the wireless profiles
Start> control Panel> classic view> network and sharing center> manage wireless networks

Delete the profiles
you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to - so make sure you know the correct password , and not using an incorrect password at all
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top