1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cannot connect to my wireless router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by xtinaox08, Nov 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xtinaox08

    xtinaox08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    My linksys wireless router does not want to connect to my hp pavillion dv 6700. I had tried already tried resetting it, and it still hadn't managed to solve the issue. It might be something wrong with the IP address, or other settings. I can connect just fine to a modem. What do I need to do to resolve this and get back running wirelessly?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,409
    First Name:
    Wayne
    whats the exact model of the linksys router - are you connecting wireless or by cable to the router

    can we see an ipconfig /all (see below) when you are connected directly to the modem and then connect the router to the modem and do a complete power cycle (see below) and post an ipconfig /all from the pc connected to the router - make sure we know which is which

    if you are connecting by wireless are you using the correct wireless security key if the wireless is security enabled - log into the router and remove the wireless security and try to connect - lets see a xirrus screen shot (see below)


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to power cycle

    “power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
    • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
    • Wait at least 30 seconds.
    • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
    • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Next switch on the router (if a seperate device ) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. xtinaox08

    xtinaox08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    My model number is WRT54GS2 V1. I am currently connecting by a wire to my modem. I can connect to other wireless routers that do not have a security key.


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Christina-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : at.cox.net

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : at.cox.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-00-05-4B-79
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2404:1989:ae41:44d8%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.103(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, November 28, 2011 7:27:07 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 7:27:06 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 402661632
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-83-33-F5-00-1E-68-3F-80-FB
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.105.28.11
    68.105.29.11
    68.105.28.12
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-37-DE-F3-43
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-3F-80-FB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a96f:abac:ce58:ca42%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, November 28, 2011 7:26:07 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 7:26:07 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251666024
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-83-33-F5-00-1E-68-3F-80-FB
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{27358F3A-F71A-4B83-98C8-CCB7A681A6AE}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : at.cox.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 19:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{1C11AE53-28A5-4AC7-BA9F-CD4109D7856C}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  4. xtinaox08

    xtinaox08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I had reset my router completely with an open network. There's signal, but no connection. This is what I received for not connecting online.


    There may be a problem with your Domain name server (DNS) configuration.
    Failed to find the well known host www.microsoft.com using DNS. The server may be down.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,409
    First Name:
    Wayne
    As you say you are connected by cable to the router - and working so that IP address is correct - but we can also see the wireless is connected - now that information is wrong for your router
    notice the default gateway info
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    notice they are different and should be the same - which means you could be connection to someone else's wireless and not your own

    can we see an xirrus screen shot and also make sure we know the name of the wireless network that is yours
     
  6. xtinaox08

    xtinaox08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I cannot copy the xirrus screen shot onto any paint or word document.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,409
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what happens when you try to copy and paste ?
    try just using printscreen - it will copy the full screen info
     
  8. xtinaox08

    xtinaox08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I have tried alt prt sc, ctrl prt sc, and just prt sc itself and the documents do not read any kind of item to paste.
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,409
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have a camera phone - perhaps you can take an image that way

    does xirrus detect wireless networks ?

    can you be exact what modem is connected to the intenet port on the router - anything else connected to the modem - make and model of the modem

    with a PC just connected to the modem only - can you post a ipconfig /all

    lets also try a tcp/ip reset

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the message
    Access is Denied

    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the message
    Access is Denied

    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    try this
     
  10. xtinaox08

    xtinaox08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Xirrus does detect wireless networks. The modem is WESTELL. ADSL2+ Router. Style: MSTATEA. It says on the back: For Advanced Device Configuration go to: http://192.168.1.254. The DSL and power cord are connected to this modem. The Ethernet cable is connected directly to the linksys router. The ipconfig/all screen will show up for a second and shut off. I resetted the tcp/ip. Access was not denied and so I rebooted the computer.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,409
    First Name:
    Wayne
    does anything work on it at all ?
     
  12. xtinaox08

    xtinaox08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Connection infomation on Westell. 192.168.1.254

    DSL UP
    Internet Connection UP
    User ID [email protected]
    Downstream Rate 3547 Kbps
    Upstream Rate 383 Kbps
    Internet IP Address 98.70.56.217
    Internet Gateway Address 98.70.56.1
    DNS Servers 205.152.111.23 dns.mco.bellsouth.net
    205.152.144.23 dns.mia.bellsouth.net
    Mode PPP on the modem (Private IP for LAN device)
    Timeout 20 minutes

    Modem Information

    Modem Name
    ProLine
    Model F90-610025-06
    Serial Number 10AK12007470
    Software Version VER:01.00.06.12
    MAC Address 0C:D5:02:3C:E2:B7
    First Use Date 08/26/2011 18:20:33 GMT

    Local Network

    Modem IP Address
    192.168.1.254
    Ethernet Status Connected


    With the IP address for the linksys 192.168.1.1, it requires a sign in and password.
     
  13. xtinaox08

    xtinaox08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I can connect just fine to the modem. Just not router.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,409
    First Name:
    Wayne
    this means the modem is a router I think
    so you are actually connecting two routers

    connect a PC to the modem only and lets see an ipconfig /all
     
  15. xtinaox08

    xtinaox08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    ipconfig/all still doesn't come up. I am connecting the westell modem to the linksys wireless router. Currently I am obtaining internet from the westell modem. I can get full signal to the linksys, but my computer cannot connect to it. Is it maybe resetting my IP address so I can connect to linksys? I just don't know how to sign in once I get onto the IP address page. I can connect to other wireless connections just not my own.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1028359

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice