cannot connect to my wireless router

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

xtinaox08

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
9
My linksys wireless router does not want to connect to my hp pavillion dv 6700. I had tried already tried resetting it, and it still hadn't managed to solve the issue. It might be something wrong with the IP address, or other settings. I can connect just fine to a modem. What do I need to do to resolve this and get back running wirelessly?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
whats the exact model of the linksys router - are you connecting wireless or by cable to the router

can we see an ipconfig /all (see below) when you are connected directly to the modem and then connect the router to the modem and do a complete power cycle (see below) and post an ipconfig /all from the pc connected to the router - make sure we know which is which

if you are connecting by wireless are you using the correct wireless security key if the wireless is security enabled - log into the router and remove the wireless security and try to connect - lets see a xirrus screen shot (see below)


------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to power cycle

“power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
  • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
  • Wait at least 30 seconds.
  • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
  • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
  • Next switch on the router (if a seperate device ) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
  • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

{If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

xtinaox08

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
9
My model number is WRT54GS2 V1. I am currently connecting by a wire to my modem. I can connect to other wireless routers that do not have a security key.


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Christina-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : at.cox.net

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : at.cox.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-00-05-4B-79
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2404:1989:ae41:44d8%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.103(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, November 28, 2011 7:27:07 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 7:27:06 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 402661632
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-83-33-F5-00-1E-68-3F-80-FB
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.105.28.11
68.105.29.11
68.105.28.12
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-37-DE-F3-43
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-3F-80-FB
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a96f:abac:ce58:ca42%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, November 28, 2011 7:26:07 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 7:26:07 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251666024
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-83-33-F5-00-1E-68-3F-80-FB
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{27358F3A-F71A-4B83-98C8-CCB7A681A6AE}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : at.cox.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 19:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{1C11AE53-28A5-4AC7-BA9F-CD4109D7856C}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

xtinaox08

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
9
I had reset my router completely with an open network. There's signal, but no connection. This is what I received for not connecting online.


There may be a problem with your Domain name server (DNS) configuration.
Failed to find the well known host www.microsoft.com using DNS. The server may be down.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
As you say you are connected by cable to the router - and working so that IP address is correct - but we can also see the wireless is connected - now that information is wrong for your router
notice the default gateway info
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

notice they are different and should be the same - which means you could be connection to someone else's wireless and not your own

can we see an xirrus screen shot and also make sure we know the name of the wireless network that is yours
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
what happens when you try to copy and paste ?
try just using printscreen - it will copy the full screen info
 

xtinaox08

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
9
I have tried alt prt sc, ctrl prt sc, and just prt sc itself and the documents do not read any kind of item to paste.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
do you have a camera phone - perhaps you can take an image that way

does xirrus detect wireless networks ?

My model number is WRT54GS2 V1. I am currently connecting by a wire to my modem.
can you be exact what modem is connected to the intenet port on the router - anything else connected to the modem - make and model of the modem

with a PC just connected to the modem only - can you post a ipconfig /all

lets also try a tcp/ip reset

------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
and press enter

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
and press enter

Reboot the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Please note and post back - if you receive the message
Access is Denied

Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log
and press enter

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog
and press enter

Reboot the machine.

Please note and post back - if you receive the message
Access is Denied

Post back the results here
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------


try this
 

xtinaox08

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
9
Xirrus does detect wireless networks. The modem is WESTELL. ADSL2+ Router. Style: MSTATEA. It says on the back: For Advanced Device Configuration go to: http://192.168.1.254. The DSL and power cord are connected to this modem. The Ethernet cable is connected directly to the linksys router. The ipconfig/all screen will show up for a second and shut off. I resetted the tcp/ip. Access was not denied and so I rebooted the computer.
 

Attachments

xtinaox08

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
9
Connection infomation on Westell. 192.168.1.254

DSL UP
Internet Connection UP
User ID [email protected]
Downstream Rate 3547 Kbps
Upstream Rate 383 Kbps
Internet IP Address 98.70.56.217
Internet Gateway Address 98.70.56.1
DNS Servers 205.152.111.23 dns.mco.bellsouth.net
205.152.144.23 dns.mia.bellsouth.net
Mode PPP on the modem (Private IP for LAN device)
Timeout 20 minutes

Modem Information

Modem Name
ProLine
Model F90-610025-06
Serial Number 10AK12007470
Software Version VER:01.00.06.12
MAC Address 0C:D5:02:3C:E2:B7
First Use Date 08/26/2011 18:20:33 GMT

Local Network

Modem IP Address
192.168.1.254
Ethernet Status Connected


With the IP address for the linksys 192.168.1.1, it requires a sign in and password.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
192.168.1.254
this means the modem is a router I think
so you are actually connecting two routers

connect a PC to the modem only and lets see an ipconfig /all
 

xtinaox08

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
9
ipconfig/all still doesn't come up. I am connecting the westell modem to the linksys wireless router. Currently I am obtaining internet from the westell modem. I can get full signal to the linksys, but my computer cannot connect to it. Is it maybe resetting my IP address so I can connect to linksys? I just don't know how to sign in once I get onto the IP address page. I can connect to other wireless connections just not my own.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top