1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot Connect to or ping facebook.com

Discussion in 'Networking' started by vortex2450, Jan 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vortex2450

    vortex2450 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    I just recently moved and despite a significant upgrade in internet speed I am having the most peculiar and annoying issue.

    My computer (windows 7 pro 64 bit os) will not connect to facebook in any shape or form.
    I have tried using the direct ip and DNS name on Firefox, chrome, and IE.
    I've tried renewing but my internal and public ip addresses. I can not change my external ip but have tried 3 different internal ip addresses with the same result.
    Everyone else can get on facebook with their computers, and I can get on with my laptop but just not my desktop.
    It's worth mentioning that before I moved I was having strange issue with facebook webpage authentication on just this computer as well.

    Anyways
    When I ping www.facebook.com [69.171.228.74] I get :

    Pinging www.facebook.com [69.171.228.74] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 69.171.228.74:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),


    And then my ipconfig:

    C:\Users\Josh>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Josh-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Network Bridge:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : launchmodem.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : MAC Bridge Miniport
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-24-1D-20-5E-43
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : RangeMax Dual Band Wireless-N USB Adapt

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-2F-BB-49-38
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a008:e9d6:7692:2c48%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 09, 2013 12:54:30 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 11, 2013 1:02:22 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 385882927
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-9C-77-9D-00-1F-D0-81-78-

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{702658B5-BE2F-4A8D-B6D8-5B45B9A68727}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    And then tracert ; which I don't know how to read :

    C:\Users\Josh>tracert www.facebook.com

    Tracing route to www.facebook.com [69.171.228.74]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 10 ms 12 ms 9 ms 24.25.32.28
    4 14 ms 13 ms 13 ms 24.93.64.108
    5 29 ms 23 ms 24 ms ae-3-0.cr0.dca10.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.80]
    6 22 ms 21 ms 21 ms 107.14.19.133
    7 23 ms 21 ms 19 ms xe-0-1-1.er2.iad10.us.above.net [64.125.12.61]
    8 27 ms 24 ms 22 ms xe-3-0-0.cr2.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.26.241]
    9 22 ms 22 ms 22 ms xe-0-0-0.cr1.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.28.241]
    10 50 ms 47 ms 47 ms xe-2-2-0.cr1.iah1.us.above.net [64.125.29.37]
    11 115 ms 84 ms 89 ms xe-1-3-0.cr1.lax112.us.above.net [64.125.26.12

    12 93 ms 109 ms 96 ms xe-4-1-0.cr1.sjc2.us.above.net [64.125.29.1]
    13 92 ms 152 ms 95 ms xe-0-1-0.mpr3.sjc7.us.above.net [64.125.30.174

    14 94 ms 97 ms 95 ms 209.66.88.226
    15 97 ms 93 ms 88 ms ae1.bb02.sjc1.tfbnw.net [204.15.21.164]
    16 108 ms 120 ms 109 ms ae12.bb02.prn1.tfbnw.net [74.119.79.109]
    17 113 ms 112 ms 113 ms ae1.dr02.prn1.tfbnw.net [74.119.79.107]
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 * * * Request timed out.
    22 * * * Request timed out.
    23 * * * Request timed out.
    24 * * * Request timed out.
    25 * * * Request timed out.
    26 * * * Request timed out.
    27 * * * Request timed out.
    28 * * * Request timed out.
    29 * * * Request timed out.
    30 * * * Request timed out.

    Trace complete.



    I have tried disabling and installing AVG free as well as disabling window firewall with no change.
    I don't really care about facebook that much but I would like to find and resolve this issue.

    Ideas?


    thanks.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did you use the removal tool

    AVG Removal Tools
    http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities
    http://www.avg.com/ww-en/utilities

    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2013 http://www.avg.com/tools#tba2 - > on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2012 http://www.avg.com/tools2012.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2011 http://www.avg.com/tools2011.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 9.0 http://www.avg.com/tools9.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 8.5 http://www.avg.com/tools8.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover

    What other firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , Webroot etc

    its unlikely to be a host file issue - but have a look anyway
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/972034

    also on the trusted zones / restricted zone
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/174360
     
  3. vortex2450

    vortex2450 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    I did not use the removal tool, I am running that right now.

    As for other security measures I have used nothing beyond windows firewall and avg free since I installed this OS.

    I'll try following those leads first then get back to you.

    Thanks.

    EDIT:

    Tried screwing with the host files no luck. My interpretation of the restricted zones is that they are an IE thing but I still cleared all of them as well.
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  5. vortex2450

    vortex2450 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Perfect, the first thread did the trick, seeing you walk that user through it cleared up my confusion. I hadn't saved the repair host file correctly.
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Is your hosts file behaving like the one from that user, meaning are the Facebook entries always returning?

    Returning or not, those entries should definitely not be there in the first place. They are a sign of malware infestation.
     
  7. vortex2450

    vortex2450 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Are far as I can tell , no. It appears that my avg wasn't functioning properly because I re-installed 2013 and went through a whole system scan and caught 3 malware programs. Took them out and haven't noticed any clever reproductions in the hostfile yet.

    I'll keep an eye on it.


    thanks
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084446

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice