Cannot Connect to or ping facebook.com

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

vortex2450

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
4
I just recently moved and despite a significant upgrade in internet speed I am having the most peculiar and annoying issue.

My computer (windows 7 pro 64 bit os) will not connect to facebook in any shape or form.
I have tried using the direct ip and DNS name on Firefox, chrome, and IE.
I've tried renewing but my internal and public ip addresses. I can not change my external ip but have tried 3 different internal ip addresses with the same result.
Everyone else can get on facebook with their computers, and I can get on with my laptop but just not my desktop.
It's worth mentioning that before I moved I was having strange issue with facebook webpage authentication on just this computer as well.

Anyways
When I ping www.facebook.com [69.171.228.74] I get :

Pinging www.facebook.com [69.171.228.74] with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 69.171.228.74:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),


And then my ipconfig:

C:\Users\Josh>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Josh-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Network Bridge:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : launchmodem.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : MAC Bridge Miniport
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-24-1D-20-5E-43
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : RangeMax Dual Band Wireless-N USB Adapt

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-2F-BB-49-38
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a008:e9d6:7692:2c48%14(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 09, 2013 12:54:30 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 11, 2013 1:02:22 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 385882927
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-9C-77-9D-00-1F-D0-81-78-

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
209.18.47.62
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{702658B5-BE2F-4A8D-B6D8-5B45B9A68727}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


And then tracert ; which I don't know how to read :

C:\Users\Josh>tracert www.facebook.com

Tracing route to www.facebook.com [69.171.228.74]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 10 ms 12 ms 9 ms 24.25.32.28
4 14 ms 13 ms 13 ms 24.93.64.108
5 29 ms 23 ms 24 ms ae-3-0.cr0.dca10.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.80]
6 22 ms 21 ms 21 ms 107.14.19.133
7 23 ms 21 ms 19 ms xe-0-1-1.er2.iad10.us.above.net [64.125.12.61]
8 27 ms 24 ms 22 ms xe-3-0-0.cr2.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.26.241]
9 22 ms 22 ms 22 ms xe-0-0-0.cr1.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.28.241]
10 50 ms 47 ms 47 ms xe-2-2-0.cr1.iah1.us.above.net [64.125.29.37]
11 115 ms 84 ms 89 ms xe-1-3-0.cr1.lax112.us.above.net [64.125.26.12

12 93 ms 109 ms 96 ms xe-4-1-0.cr1.sjc2.us.above.net [64.125.29.1]
13 92 ms 152 ms 95 ms xe-0-1-0.mpr3.sjc7.us.above.net [64.125.30.174

14 94 ms 97 ms 95 ms 209.66.88.226
15 97 ms 93 ms 88 ms ae1.bb02.sjc1.tfbnw.net [204.15.21.164]
16 108 ms 120 ms 109 ms ae12.bb02.prn1.tfbnw.net [74.119.79.109]
17 113 ms 112 ms 113 ms ae1.dr02.prn1.tfbnw.net [74.119.79.107]
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.



I have tried disabling and installing AVG free as well as disabling window firewall with no change.
I don't really care about facebook that much but I would like to find and resolve this issue.

Ideas?


thanks.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
I have tried disabling and installing AVG free
did you use the removal tool

AVG Removal Tools
http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities
http://www.avg.com/ww-en/utilities

> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2013 http://www.avg.com/tools#tba2 - > on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2012 http://www.avg.com/tools2012.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2011 http://www.avg.com/tools2011.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 9.0 http://www.avg.com/tools9.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 8.5 http://www.avg.com/tools8.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover

What other firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , Webroot etc

its unlikely to be a host file issue - but have a look anyway
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/972034

also on the trusted zones / restricted zone
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/174360
 

vortex2450

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
4
I did not use the removal tool, I am running that right now.

As for other security measures I have used nothing beyond windows firewall and avg free since I installed this OS.

I'll try following those leads first then get back to you.

Thanks.

EDIT:

Tried screwing with the host files no luck. My interpretation of the restricted zones is that they are an IE thing but I still cleared all of them as well.
 

vortex2450

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
4
Perfect, the first thread did the trick, seeing you walk that user through it cleared up my confusion. I hadn't saved the repair host file correctly.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Perfect, the first thread did the trick, seeing you walk that user through it cleared up my confusion. I hadn't saved the repair host file correctly.
Is your hosts file behaving like the one from that user, meaning are the Facebook entries always returning?

Returning or not, those entries should definitely not be there in the first place. They are a sign of malware infestation.
 

vortex2450

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
4
Is your hosts file behaving like the one from that user, meaning are the Facebook entries always returning?

Returning or not, those entries should definitely not be there in the first place. They are a sign of malware infestation.
Are far as I can tell , no. It appears that my avg wasn't functioning properly because I re-installed 2013 and went through a whole system scan and caught 3 malware programs. Took them out and haven't noticed any clever reproductions in the hostfile yet.

I'll keep an eye on it.


thanks
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top