Cannot connect to the internet via ethernet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Bnagy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
7
Currently I am at college and we have a wireless network here. Not the best but, it works. Recently I was told that since you need to have a password for the wireless internet and it is pretty slow you cannot access xbox live or online computer games. Both my roommates were able to use my ethernet to connect to the internet and play but, I cannot do that. They have used my cable so i know it works and i have tried more then one hub which means that is not the problem. I have windows XP and am not sure why its not working. All help is appreciated. Thanks
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

Please respond to all the following steps.

  1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
  2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
  3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?


Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

Bnagy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
7
1. 1394 Net Adapter
Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter

2. No

3. No


Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.brian>IPCONFIG /ALL
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : brian
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : vcu.edu
Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : vcu.edu
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-A5-D0-B0-7E
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.23.17.63
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 172.23.23.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 2.2.2.2
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 128.172.1.5
128.172.90.11
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, September 07, 2009 6:27:00 P
M
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, September 07, 2009 7:27:00 P
M
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.brian>
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
You have no wired Ethernet adapter that Windows recognizes, which is the problem. If this is a build-in adapter, check and see if it's disabled in the BIOS.
 

Bnagy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
7
I'm not sure what you mean by a "built in adapter" but, on my comp there is a port that fits a ethernet exactly and has a picture of 1 computer on top with a solid line under it then under the line two computers side by side.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,121
If it's a laptop then the adapter is built in (from your description of the port).

If it's a desktop then the adapter is built in or is a PCI (installed in a PCI slot).
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,121
Check your documentation or the screen that first comes up when you turn the computer on for the key (or key combination) that you need to tap to enter the BIOS (or sometimes called Setup).
 

Bnagy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
7
Okay thankyou. Next time to restart I will check. If i have anymore questions ill just repost.
 

Bnagy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
7
Just did it the other day and it worked. Thank you guys so much!!!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top