Cannot connect to the net

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

KrzyPrk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2001
Messages
328
Hi,

My friend has this laptop w/ the ethernet PCMCIA card using Win98SE. He has used it before connecting to the net. He has messed around his laptop and no longer can connect to net.

The PCMCIA card does come out in the device manager in working order. However, it does not come out in 'WINIPCFG'. How do I have that come out in there?
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
Wouldn't you "release all" then "renew all"

if its dialup it'd be on PPP... if not dialup then other setting in the scroll down ... where the arrow is .

Hope that helps

Savvy:)
 

KrzyPrk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2001
Messages
328
thanks...

dont i need to scroll down to where the PCMCIA card is suppose to be? the problem is that, that card isnt there to be selected. do i just selected any then Release All?
 

Max19

Account Disabled
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
1,222
Is the network card listed in device manager? If not, reinstall the drivers for it.
 

KrzyPrk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2001
Messages
328
yeah..the network card does come out in device manager in working order. We have reinstalled it too.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 1999
Messages
243
Sounds like you may need to reinstall TCP/IP for your network.. I am right in thinking that when you go to winipcfg, you can only see ppp?

If so, right click on network neighborhood, click properties, click ADD----> protocols---->Microsoft---->tcp/ip

Post back!
 

KrzyPrk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2001
Messages
328
Hmm,,,,i think all was PPP in WINIPCFG. ok..thanks..i'll try that tomorrow.
 

KrzyPrk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2001
Messages
328
just got back.

i have tried that...it does not appear in WINIPCFG. Also, it doesnt connect to the net. whats the next step ?
 

Max19

Account Disabled
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
1,222
Verify that all the network settings are what they should be to connect to your network.
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Under the Network icon on the ControlPanel, do you see "Client for Microsoft Networks" listed as an installed component?

If you scroll down and highlight the TCP/IP entry for the network card (TCP/IP -> network card name) and select Properties. Then click on the "Bindings" tab. What is the card bound to?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
This is just too funny! I've never in my life heard of the problem described here and now it's happened to me! I have an old laptop with a newer install of Win98 (no additional software installed). Plugged it in at work for something and all was well (meaning I could get on the network and access Internet) except that I noticed my card was listed twice in Device Manager (which didn't surprise me because I was screwing with things the other day to get an external modem to work with it but that's not important since everything worked afterward) so I deleted all entries for the card and rebooted. Card was recognized and driver installed. I setup TCP/IP settings again (which isn't actually required because should get IP address from DHCP server) but it's not working and it's not listed in winipcfg or ipconfig. I think I started laughing out loud remembering this post!
So, I'm off to find the prob and I'll post back when I get it resolved!
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
Sorry guys but I gave up. I removed/reinstalled all networking components, trashed all pwl files (hey, ya never know), made sure there wasn't any autologon stuff going on, dug through the registry, etc. Anyway, since there wasn't anything on there anyway, I just wiped it and I'm reinstalling the OS.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
I have run into this often. You look in Device Manager and the NIC is there and well, according to Device Manager but you can't conect. You go to winipcfg and no NIC. The normal fix is to remove the NIC and get it reinstalled with the right drivers and sometimes run the diagonistics on the NIC. The Operating System is not seeing the NIC even though Device Manager is.
Del
 

KrzyPrk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2001
Messages
328
hey guys thanks

sorry for the late reply. i havent seen him since now.
My friend brought it in and have it checked out so, I dont know what the problem was.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top