1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot display 1 specific webpage

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by HOBO546, Dec 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HOBO546

    HOBO546 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Hello,
    I am having the strangest problem: I cannot access a specific website with either IE 9, Firefox 8 or my Ipod.

    I am using a Dell Inspiron laptop running Windows 7. The website that I cannot access is my online business website. I am using AT&T U-verse with the modem plugged into a Netgear router. I know the website works because others can access it. I can see other websites fine on both browsers & my ipod.

    The website works intermittently (usually when I first turn on the computer) then stops working. It seems to occasionally revive itself randomly during the day for a few minutes.

    With Firefox the message is: Server not found Firefox cannot find the server at ________
    With IE the message is: Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage.

    My Ipod (Safari browser) can't show the webpage and a friend's Ipod had the same problem however when he VPN'd into his work computer from my Dell laptop he could see the site.

    I tried flushing my DNS (from command window: ipconfig /flushdns), clearing temp files, even using regedit to find all references to the website in the registry and deleting those. I cannot ping nor nslookup the website in command window. I tried accessing it by IP address but that didn't work (it's possible I have the wrong IP address though; I'm checking with company tech support). I can even plug my laptop directly into the AT&T modem/router and the website will work for a few minutes (in IE not Firefox) but then if I close the browser a few times it stops working again.

    Yesterday AT&T even gave me a whole new modem/router and even with this the website doesn't work! It worked for a few minutes then stopped working.

    One other thing: I used to have AVG (paid version with firewall) and AVG linkscanner. I got rid of AVG and now use Avast (free version) and Windows firewall. The problem seems to have started around the time of this transition. Is it possible that AVG somehow blocked the site? I uninstalled AVG but kept the linkscanner for a day or two, then uninstalled the linkscanner (hoping that would correct the problem) but no luck.

    It seems that the DNS is malfunctioning at the modem level! Is that possible??

    I am completely at a loss. Any help would be greatly appreciated; I have to get this site working. If you need me to tell you the website I can.

    Thanks!

    hobo
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  3. HOBO546

    HOBO546 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    I tried both of those.

    Changed the Netgear router MTU to 1396; no luck.
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  5. HOBO546

    HOBO546 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Yes! I can get there with anonymouse. Is it safe to send data (passwords, etc) through that website?
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    It was specifically for troubleshooting purposes. You won't be able to make secure logins. It won't work.
     
  7. HOBO546

    HOBO546 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Update: I just tried it again with anonymouse and got this error:
    ERROR

    The requested URL could not be retrieved

    The following error was encountered while trying to retrieve the URL: (website URL)

    Unable to determine IP address from host name ....
    The DNS server returned:
    Server Failure: The name server was unable to process this query. ​
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    A connection between some system and the next system on the route to the website might simply be down, or the network connecting them may be down. You may just have to wait for the problem to be fixed.

    Open a command prompt:

    Type tracert www.yourwebsite.com

    Press Enter.
     
  9. HOBO546

    HOBO546 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    It's been a few days though. There's nothing else I can try?
     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Open a command prompt:

    Type tracert www.yourwebsite.com

    Press Enter.

    Copy the command prompt input and paste it into your next reply.
     
  11. HOBO546

    HOBO546 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Guest1>tracert www....
    Unable to resolve target system name www.....

    C:\Users\Guest1>
     
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Have you tried bypassing the router and simply connecting your ethernet cable to the modem?
     
  13. HOBO546

    HOBO546 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Even connected to the AT&T modem/router with an Ethernet cable I have the same problem; page cannot be loaded. Also with Ethernet cable plugged into modem I can't ping, nslookup or tracert the website.
     
  14. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Can you give us the address of the website?
     
  15. HOBO546

    HOBO546 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    www [dot] .... [dot] com
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029692

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice