1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot download an ActiveX control

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by lottylee, Dec 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lottylee

    lottylee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    I am running Windows XP. I have been using a website to get grocery coupons. On my recent visit, I was told I needed to download a new coupon printer. Since I have been using this site for over a year, I had no doubts about doing this. I clicked on upgrade now and the next window said to click on Install AcitveX in the yellow bar in my I.E. window. I didn't have the yellow bar. I realized it has been a while since I have seen that irritating yellow bar. I am wondering what could have happened? I tried going to another site which would initiate the Install ActiveX and it wouldn't work there either. I am using IE6, I went against all rational thought and tried using Low as my privacy setting, changed all settings containing ActiveX to "enable" or "prompt" and still nothing. I also tried disabling Norton also. In their help section, they are suggesting I upgrade to IE7. I won't be doing that!

    Any ideas?

    Pat
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,770
    Hiya

    It looks like its turned off for some reason, which is not good, as ActiveX and other nasties can download without you knowing. Try this:

    Open Internet Explorer.
    On the Tools menu, point to Pop-up Blocker, and then click Pop-up Blocker Settings.
    Tick the Show Information Bar when a pop-up is blocked check box.

    Also, do this:

    Control Panel | Internet Options. Security tab. Custom Settings. Make sure the drop down menu is set to Medium, Reset, Yes. If its on Medium already, reset anyway.

    Apply and OK.

    To doublecheck its worked, look in the Custom settings again, and make sure the following are disabled:

    In the Downloads section of the list, under 'Automatic prompting for file downloads'.
    In the ActiveX controls and plug-ins section of the list, under 'Automatic prompting for ActiveX controls'

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. blkwlnt64

    blkwlnt64

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    651
    Also need an HJT log.
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,770
    good point, as you may have some nasties already.

    go to http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/files/hijackthis_sfx.exe , and download 'Hijack This!'.
    Doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

    When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
    Press that, save the log somewhere, and please copy & paste its contents to the forum.

    It will possibly show other issues deserving our attention, but most of what it lists will be harmless or even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.

    Someone here will be happy to help you analyze the results.

    eddie
     
  5. lottylee

    lottylee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    I posted this question on Dec. 6th and cannot find it anywhere so I'll post it again.

    I am trying to install a coupon printer. It tells me to click on the yellow bar in my IE window (version 6). I realized I have not seen the dumb little yellow bar in a long time. I tried going to another site that I knew would ask me to install an activex control and couldn't do that either. I tried enabling or prompting every activex option in my settings and set my securtiy level for low. I also shut off Norton. This did nothing so I put everything back where it was.

    Any ideas?

    Pat
     
  6. Blackmirror

    Blackmirror

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32,638
    have you tried resetting ie options to default tools internet options advanced and then default .. just a thought

    You might try deleting all cookies and offline content.. tools internet options general tab
     
  7. lottylee

    lottylee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Okay. I found my helpers! Thanks all.

    I tried Eddie's earlier fixes and they did nothing.

    Here's my log:
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 7:47:29 AM, on 12/8/2006
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SPBBC\SPBBCSvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Symantec\LiveUpdate\ALUSchedulerSvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\IWP\NPFMntor.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\New Boundary\PrismXL\PRISMXL.SYS
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\sstray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\zHotkey.exe
    C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PDVDServ.exe
    C:\Program Files\Digital Media Reader\shwiconem.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\WkUFind.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Security Console\NSCSRVCE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\explorer.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\Program Files\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {724d43a9-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\roboform.dll
    O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {A8F38D8D-E480-4D52-B7A2-731BB6995FDD} - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - (no file)
    O3 - Toolbar: AOL Toolbar - {4982D40A-C53B-4615-B15B-B5B5E98D167C} - C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll (file missing)
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {C4069E3A-68F1-403E-B40E-20066696354B} - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &RoboForm - {724d43a0-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\roboform.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMan] SOUNDMAN.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nForce Tray Options] sstray.exe /r
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CHotkey] zHotkey.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ShowWnd] ShowWnd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RemoteControl] "C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PDVDServ.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroFilterCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunKistEM] C:\Program Files\Digital Media Reader\shwiconem.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Microsoft Works Update Detection] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\WkUFind.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - Global Startup: BigFix.lnk = C:\Program Files\BigFix\BigFix.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &AOL Toolbar search - res://C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll/SEARCH.HTML
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Customize Menu - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComCustomizeIEMenu.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Fill Forms - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComFillForms.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: RoboForm Toolbar - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComShowToolbar.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Save Forms - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComSavePass.html
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2\bin\npjpi142.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2\bin\npjpi142.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Fill Forms - {320AF880-6646-11D3-ABEE-C5DBF3571F46} - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComFillForms.html
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Fill Forms - {320AF880-6646-11D3-ABEE-C5DBF3571F46} - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComFillForms.html
    O9 - Extra button: Save - {320AF880-6646-11D3-ABEE-C5DBF3571F49} - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComSavePass.html
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Save Forms - {320AF880-6646-11D3-ABEE-C5DBF3571F49} - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComSavePass.html
    O9 - Extra button: AOL Toolbar - {4982D40A-C53B-4615-B15B-B5B5E98D167C} - C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll (file missing)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: AOL Toolbar - {4982D40A-C53B-4615-B15B-B5B5E98D167C} - C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll (file missing)
    O9 - Extra button: RoboForm - {724d43aa-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComShowToolbar.html
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: RoboForm Toolbar - {724d43aa-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComShowToolbar.html
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Shdocvw.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O15 - Trusted Zone: www.couponbug.com
    O16 - DPF: {15B782AF-55D8-11D1-B477-006097098764} (Macromedia Authorware Web Player Control) - http://taplin.wincshost.com/players/awswaxd.cab
    O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=39204
    O16 - DPF: {4FAE30E1-EE9C-477D-8D06-BF8D3429B60F} (WebIQ Technology Client) - https://www.webiqonline.com/WebIQ/bin/WebIQ.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3} (MUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/muweb_site.cab?1149611818296
    O16 - DPF: {9522B3FB-7A2B-4646-8AF6-36E7F593073C} (cpbrkpie Control) - http://a19.g.akamai.net/7/19/7125/4056/ftp.coupons.com/r3302/Nestle/Coupons.cab
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: WgaLogon - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WgaLogon.dll
    O23 - Service: Automatic LiveUpdate Scheduler - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Symantec\LiveUpdate\ALUSchedulerSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager (ccEvtMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Settings Manager (ccSetMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
    O23 - Service: LiveUpdate - Symantec Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\Symantec\LIVEUP~1\LUCOMS~1.EXE
    O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Auto-Protect Service (navapsvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Firewall Monitor Service (NPFMntor) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\IWP\NPFMntor.exe
    O23 - Service: Norton Protection Center Service (NSCService) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Security Console\NSCSRVCE.EXE
    O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    O23 - Service: PrismXL - New Boundary Technologies, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\New Boundary\PrismXL\PRISMXL.SYS
    O23 - Service: Symantec AVScan (SAVScan) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\SAVScan.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Network Drivers Service (SNDSrvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe
    O23 - Service: SPBBCSvc - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SPBBC\SPBBCSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Core LC - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Please don't post multiple threads on the same topic. I merged your two threads.
     
  9. cybertech

    cybertech Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    69,446
    Run HJT again and put a check in the following:

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - (no file)
    O15 - Trusted Zone: www.couponbug.com
    O16 - DPF: {9522B3FB-7A2B-4646-8AF6-36E7F593073C} (cpbrkpie Control) - http://a19.g.akamai.net/7/19/7125/40...le/Coupons.cab

    Close all applications and browser windows before you click "fix checked".


    Your Java is out of date. Older versions have vulnerabilities that malware can use to infect your system.
    Please follow these steps to remove older version Java components and update.

    Updating Java:
    • Download the latest version of Java Runtime Environment (JRE) 5.0 Update 10.
    • Scroll down to where it says "The J2SE Runtime Environment (JRE) allows end-users to run Java applications".
    • Click the "Download" button to the right.
    • Check the box that says: "Accept License Agreement".
    • The page will refresh.
    • Click on the link to download Windows Offline Installation with or without Multi-language and save to your desktop.
    • Close any programs you may have running - especially your web browser.
    • Go to Start > Control Panel double-click on Add/Remove programs and remove all older versions of Java.
    • Check any item with Java Runtime Environment (JRE or J2SE) in the name.
    • Click the Remove or Change/Remove button.
    • Repeat as many times as necessary to remove each Java versions.
    • Reboot your computer once all Java components are removed.
    • Then from your desktop double-click on the download to install the newest version.
     
  10. lottylee

    lottylee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    I tried your fix Cybertech. Still cannot see yellow bar. Thanks for trying. Sorry about the multiple threads. I was looking for my post under my name and when I posted it.

    Any other ideas, friends?
     
  11. cybertech

    cybertech Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    69,446
    I don't use IE7 but my suggestion is a new thread in Web and E-mail forum as that is more appropriate for your problem. New thread would indicate you are not getting helped. ;)
     
  12. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,896
    do you have all your windows critical updates . there was a problem back in the spring about active x and was fixed the nexted month .
     
  13. lottylee

    lottylee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    I had my computer worked on this summer and the tech had to reformat so my thought was I was missing something from Microsoft. I went to the download page and all it wants to update on my computer is IE7. I'm putting this off since it is so new(it seems like every Microsoft update is a headache!). And as mentioned, I guess this might not be the forum to discuss that! It does seem like the yellow bar has been missing for some time....like since the tech reformatted.
     
  14. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,770
  15. Papermoon

    Papermoon

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    358
    When you went to Windows Update, did you try restoring hidden updates? Maybe the tech that reinstalled your OS chose not to install the update with the Active X fix, and then hid it? Just a thought.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/524653