1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot enable wireless

Discussion in 'Networking' started by phildela, Jul 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. phildela

    phildela Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    i am not able to switch on my wireless on my laptop....i have a hp pavillion dv6 - 1131ea which contains touchpad controls for the wireless and dvd controls (which have stopped working)

    i have also tried fn + f2 to see if this will enable it an so far it hasn't.....

    any ideas what i can do or how it can be fixed?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    56,429
    First Name:
    Chuck
  4. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hi;Actually,I have no ideas based on what you have provided.So,let's start with some info:
    Make and models of modem and router.
    Let's see what device manager says.
    Let’s take a look at the status of the network adapters

    Device manager:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.
    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
    4. should be enabled and working properly.
    5. If error code,what is it ?

    It would be best if you could post a screen shot of Device Manager with the Network adapters and Other devices sections expanded.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.

    Then let's see what the environment looks like.
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)



    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

    Then let's make sure the necessary tasks are started.





    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic
    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
    __________________


    Any hardware/software changes lately?
    Can you make a hardwired connection to either the router or modem?
    But,I would take a hard look at Chuck's suggestion first.That would be the easiest route. :D
     
  5. Godofbeer

    Godofbeer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    2 things for consideration:

    1.) You didn't say that your wireless card ever worked, so there's a chance your laptop doesn't really have one. Just cause it has a little icon over the F2 button doesn't mean the wireless card is really installed. I've seen a fair number of used corporate systems like this. You can easily buy one and solve the issue, but if the wireless card was working, this isn't your problem.

    2.) The wireless card might be disabled in the BIOS setup. Reboot and enter into the setup at boot time (keys should be displayed for about 2 seconds during the intial startup ... F2, DEL, etc.). If you're lucky, the card can simply be enabled.

    Hope this helps,

    W.
     
  6. dant22185

    dant22185

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    Most of what I would say has already been said so.. With most modern laptops there is also a button that manually switches off the wireless adapter. It's is generally located either on the side or the back of the machine. Look for that and make sure that is switched to the on position. Starting with the basics always helps things escalate more smoothly. :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/937018