1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cannot fax long distance

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by woobear, Jan 10, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. woobear

    woobear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    I have no problem faxing local, but unable to fax long distance. i have one phone line, it has long distance capablities. Whats wrong?
     
  2. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Are you receiving an error?
    Have you confirmed it's dialing the 1+areacode+ number? Could be your area code rules are not set up properly.
     
  3. woobear

    woobear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    where would I look to see if the area codes are set up
     
  4. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Can you dial ok with a phone long distance? Check to make sure you have no conflicts with your ld carrier and check for stuff like maybe your long distance is protected (need a code to dial) or whatever. You would probably know if you had the last thing but I'm just trying to help out and give ideas. It could be hardware problems but you might want to try checking their end of the line if you are still having problems.
     
  5. LarryCore

    LarryCore

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 1999
    Messages:
    5,223
    Dialing properties are in Control Panel, Modem - there is a button called dialing properties. Look in there to make sure your area code is correct and it is set to dial long distance.

    Then make sure the program you are trying to dial with is set to dial all the digits - it may think the call is local, in which case it will never send the area code to the modem.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/64559

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice