1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot Find DNS Server Error (a few hours every day)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by aedctalk, Dec 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aedctalk

    aedctalk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Hi. Could really use some help. I have had something weird about my internet for the last week straight.

    Every single night. Right at about 12am in the morning until about 6am in the morning).. my computer loses all interet connection and then when i troubleshoot the error i get for those 6 hours is "Cannot Find DNS Server" then after those 6 hours it starts working just fine for the rest of the day.

    My phone internet works fine during these 6 hours when my computer doesnt.. so i'm guessing maybe it something wrong on my computer?

    Things i've tried that did not work:

    1) unplug router and modem and replug in a couple minutes later.
    2) run ipconfig/flushdns & reboot
    3) windows 7 internet connection troubleshoot (just gives the cannot find dns error)

    What other things can i do?

    I was thinking. can it be something i installed? should i find a 2 week old system restore point?

    Also is it 100% my computer.. or is it possible its my isp (brighthouse networks) & i need to call them?

    Any other ideas? Thanks so much!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if its a dns issue - try the following two ping tests - if pinging the number works but the name does not - its a dns issue
    then try using google open dns settings on the PC

    I would test both pings before the 12:00 time to see a working result

    see how below


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:


    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Google public DNS

    Google public DNS
    http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/

    Theres also a link on how to setup those DNS IP address
    http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.html

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. aedctalk

    aedctalk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Thank you for your help. I really appreciate it. Not sure what all of the below means if someone can help me determine if its good or bad? And how to proceed? Please. Thank you!

    Note.. I did the below.. while my internet is working just fine.. not between the hours of 12am and 6am when it doesnt work at all.

    What step should i take next? Thank you!





    Pinging google.com [74.125.224.240] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.224.240: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=52
    Reply from 74.125.224.240: bytes=32 time=148ms TTL=52
    Reply from 74.125.224.240: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=52
    Reply from 74.125.224.240: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=52

    Ping statistics for 74.125.224.240:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 17ms, Maximum = 148ms, Average = 51ms



    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=126ms TTL=47
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=120ms TTL=47
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=127ms TTL=47
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=47

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 81ms, Maximum = 127ms, Average = 113ms
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    then when it stops can we see those pings again

    now you know what good looks like

    If a DNS issue - then the first one
    google.com - should fail with no reply or similar
    and the
    209.183.226.152
    should be as above

    if that is the case then
    then add the google open dns settings
    and see if it works again
     
  5. aedctalk

    aedctalk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    great. thank you again. after midnight when internet is not working i will try this again.. if the google.com ping fails i'll try google open dns.


    any idea though why a DNS just suddenly stops responding or working? just out of curiousity?


    Thanks again. i'll post back with results good or bad.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    not really just a process of elimination

    could be a few other things , so see if that helps first
     
  7. aedctalk

    aedctalk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    thanks again for your help with this issue... please let me knwo what i can try next :)

    WHILE IT WAS NOT WORKING.. APPX 1AM

    C:\Users\Administration>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again

    C:\Users\Administration>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss)








    at 2:15 am right after it came back on... (tried a couple times 215am - 225am) this is when my computer showed i had connection again.. however.. the connection for the next 4 hours was dreadfully slow(same as its been doing for past week) .. to the point it couldnt load a webpage still...


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Administration>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [74.125.224.179] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 74.125.224.179: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=52
    Reply from 74.125.224.179: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=52
    Reply from 74.125.224.179: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=52

    Ping statistics for 74.125.224.179:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 15ms, Maximum = 27ms, Average = 21ms

    C:\Users\Administration>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),


    C:\Users\Administration>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [74.125.224.243] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 74.125.224.243: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=52
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 74.125.224.243:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 15ms, Maximum = 15ms, Average = 15ms

    C:\Users\Administration>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=92ms TTL=47
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=47
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 2, Lost = 2 (50% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 80ms, Maximum = 92ms, Average = 86ms
     
  8. aedctalk

    aedctalk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    also i should mention as of right now via testmy.net (this is after i've unplugged my router and tried plugging it in again a minute later)

    it says i'm 96% less than your host average [​IMG] 7.9 Mbps

    Date & Time [​IMG] Test Size Connection Speed Username ISP / Host Mon Dec 12 2011 @ 2:50:42 pm [​IMG] 256 kB 290 Kbps 36 kB/s
    [​IMG]Bhn.net [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    strange that has certainly no longer got a connection
    a few things come to mind - some routers have QoS which allows you to turn of the internet to certain PCs

    possible change the time on the PC - make sure its not set to sync from a server and see if changing the time changes when it happens , so you can prove its time factor is dependant on the PC

    can we also see an ipconfig /all when its working and when it fails

    yes you could try that
    you said other devices work with the router during this time, are you 100% other devices are working correctly at the time th e PC is not
     
  10. aedctalk

    aedctalk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    i set it to 11:17pm and unchecked sync time...

    this is an ipconfig/all while it is working..

    I'm not sure what info is not safe to share.. so i replaced a few spots with # (just incase).. hopefully it still provides the info you need .. i'll do another when its not working




    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Administration>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Windows_Touch
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-27-13-77-CB-##
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-82-51-81-##
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-82-51-81-##
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fda3:e6c2:c90c:3d0c%15(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.#(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 12, 2011 2:07:14 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, December 13, 2011 10:06:57 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.#.#
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.#.#
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 369108610
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-22-1C-E5-E0-CB-4E-7D-##-##

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.#
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-CB-4E-7D-9B-##
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{D09B428C-2DCF-4869-927C-3D4576A5A391}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-##
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:3858:2922:5179:a715(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3858:2922:5179:a715%10(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\Administration>
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    theres nothing unsafe there - the IP address are private address and anyone with a router will have a 192.168.x.x set of numbers - usually 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.0.1 are the popular gateways

    so i guess the missing number are 192.168.1.1 and the ipv4 will be 192.168.1 plus a different number probably 2

    so that all looks good

    see what time it goes wrong - real time or CPU time now
     
  12. aedctalk

    aedctalk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    thanks again for helping me. yes you had IP's right. Glad that looks good. I didn't get a chance to ipconfig/all when it wasnt working but here is what i did try since last post:

    1) While internet was NOT working last night I went to opendns.. plugged in their numbers.. afterwards i flusheddns and rebooted computer and my internet showed no change

    2) I had changed my time on my computer... and made it so it didnt sync time... however on REALTIME (when it really was 12am and my compouter said it was 4 in the afternoon... my computer lost connection again)... so it has nothing to do with my computer time it seems.

    3) I restrored my computer from system restore point (the oldest one i have.. which unfortunately is only about 5 days old... and 5 days ago i was still having internet problems.. so i'm not sure how much good it would have done)... anway.. it seemed to make no difference to my internet...

    4) you asked if 100% my phone worked while my computer didnt.. I have a iphone. I was trying to access safari and a couple of games i have).. while my internet on computer wasnt working safari couldnt pull up a website and my games were having trouble pulling in facebook login information. So i'd say most likely other devices are NOT getting internet, contrary to what i said earlier.

    Please let me know what i can try next or should do next? Thanks so much! I'm learning alot.
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so its real time and not connected to the PC clock
    however,
    the fact that no other device works means its a router or ISP issue - i would talk to the ISP next and see what they have to say for themselves

    whats the make and model of the router - it may have a QoS which allows you to set the time the internet is available and on some sytems you can restrict certain PC

    the status of the lights on the router - do they change at all
     
  14. aedctalk

    aedctalk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    It is a Netgear WGT624 v3 router.

    Next time it goes out i'll get back to you on wether i see any other oddities with router lights.
     
  15. aedctalk

    aedctalk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    also. i'd say over past month it has been a nightly occurance that i'd used to have to unplug my router and replug it back in. I'd say about once every night. Then as soon as i'd do that it my internet would usually run just fine at 100%. I'm not sure if constant need to unplug and replug back in is a sign of anything but thought i'd share just incase
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030656

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice