1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cannot find server and dns errors

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by keeva2, Jan 6, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. keeva2

    keeva2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    lately when I try to get to the secure portions of web sites, I get a cannot find server message. Below that it says that page cannot be displayed. I have tried each suggestion in the error message, but nothing seems to work. This is severely hampering my ability to do a lot things on the computer. I have even tried to get help from Techsupport24/7, but when I try to access their site I get the same message. Any help would really, really be appreciated.
     
  2. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi,

    First, do some cleaning:


    Shut down Internet Explorer and Outlook Express.
    Go to Control Panel/Internet, and clear your temporary Internet Files.
    Now click on Settings/show files, and delete your cookies.
    Or, if you're running IE 6.0, delete your cookies on the Privacy tab.
    Also clear your History.

    Now go to the Advanced tab, and click Restore Defaults.
    Next, on to the Security tab, highlight 'Internet, and click restore defaults there as well.

    Go to Start/Find/files or folders, and search for a file called HOSTS (not HOSTS.SAM which is a sample file).
    If you find it, open it and delete all web page entries.

    Tell us what happens.

    Good luck,
     
  3. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
    Another thing to check, many secure sights now require at least 128 bit encryption to connect. I believe the default IE encryption is only 64 bit.

    Open IE, go to help in the toolbar. At the bottom of help go to about.
    that screen will show your encryption. If it is less than 128
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/downloads/recommended/128bit/default.asp
    Go here to see if there is an update for your version.

    SeeYa
     
  4. keeva2

    keeva2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    thanks folks, I tried your suggestions, but I am still having the same problem. I am using IE6 and the encryption is 128. Any other ideas will be appreciated
     
  5. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Is it only on sites or pages with https in the address? Do you have a personal firewall instaled?
     
  6. Kento

    Kento

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    3,004
  7. keeva2

    keeva2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    I have a Norton firewall installed, but that has been installed for months before the problem cropped up. If I go to amazon, cdnow etc, I can get around the site without a problem, but when I try to go to checkout, I get the message that the page cannot be displayed.
     
  8. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/64390

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice