"Cannot find server or DNS Error" (For more than a month now!)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

GaMeSTa

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
197
I have been having this problem, for a month now,
My problem-
Everytime I try to log onto Playonline (To play FFXI) Or Everquest, or my Yahoo.com email or my Comcast.com email I have to log in more than once!, I have to try 2-5 times before it works!, also, most web pages I try to view wont work, they will require to be refreshed, THEN they will work (You know the "Page cannot be displayed!" And at bottom of screen it says "Cannot find server or DNS Error." I am dying to get this fixed!, It's driving me crazy!, if you know a solution please help

Also this happens with alot of the web pages I type in (I usually visit webpages through Favorites because of this)
I get something liek this as the webpage that comes up:
http://www.www.eminem.com.org/

It all started one day when I came home from school, powered up computer, and internet wasn't working correctly, I then unplugged modem and Router, plugged them back in, and it was working again, but all messed up as it is now

I have tried all of the following
----
Disk Defragment
Delete Cookies
Clear History
Disk Cleanup
Virus Scan (2 virus scanners)
Spy Ware Scan (2 spy ware scanners)
Delete Internet Files
Un/Replugged Router
Un/Replugged Modem
And More! (Jus can't think right at the moment)
Posted Hijack on this website
---
 

GaMeSTa

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
197
Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
Scan saved at 4:38:11 PM, on 4/6/2004
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Unable to get Internet Explorer version!

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXBCES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXPPS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgserv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\snmp.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\System32\LXSUPMON.EXE
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\Documents and Settings\Jacob\Desktop\New Folder\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.comcast.net/
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] C:\PROGRA~1\ZONELA~1\ZONEAL~1\zlclient.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMan] SOUNDMAN.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LXSUPMON] C:\WINDOWS\System32\LXSUPMON.EXE RUN
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AceGain LiveUpdate] C:\Program Files\AceGain\LiveUpdate\LiveUpdate.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Yahoo! Pager] C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\MESSEN~1\ypager.exe -quiet
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate into English - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: TREND MICRO HouseCall (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (PCPitstop Utility) - http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst0309.cab
O16 - DPF: {62475759-9E84-458E-A1AB-5D2C442ADFDE} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/mickey/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://housecall.trendmicro-europe.com/housecall/Xscan53.cab
O16 - DPF: {7ED7005B-4AF6-4CFF-9AE0-F243C4B8260F} (HouseCallButton.setup) - http://de.trendmicro-europe.com/file_downloads/common/housecall/HouseCallButton.CAB
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37981.6602893519
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Messages
2,281
If you have an older version of IE, install version 6 and it may take care of the problem.

If you have version 6, try repairing the installation.

Have you tried using some other browser like Netscape or Opera or FireFox or Mozilla? Ty it out with some other browser to see if the problem is with IE or something else.
 

GaMeSTa

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
197
Oh my god, I don't know how it fixed, but when I got on this computer, it hasnt been doign it, AT ALL!, YAY, PRAISE THE LORD (Which Lord?) Hell if I know
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2004
Messages
36
You fixed the problem by saying it was impossible -- the computer started working again just to spite you ...

Happens to me all the time!

BTW which EQ server you play on? I'm a Brell Serilis man myself ...
 

GaMeSTa

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
197
EVERQUEST
Sullon Zek
51 Bard
55 Beastlord
34 Shaman
Tarew Marr
51 Wizard
34 Bard
35 Monk
A buncha Level 10-20s heh

FFXI
Fairy Server
31Whm
23Bst
11Rdm
6Smn
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Messages
2
I am having the exact same problem...this is just driving me nuts.
It started to happen recently..about a week ago...and occurs on IE and firefox browsers.
im on cable modem behind a wireles router, although this computer is wired to the router.

I have tried all spyware. I avoided the problem of getting to Com.org occasionally by turning of search feature of IE. but clickingon links the first time gives me the page not found error.

I have also updated the registry as told above.

GAMESTA, how did it go away?? PLEASE pass some of that knowledge or luck my way...driving me insane that i have to keep clicking..multiple times on a link to get to it.

THANKS A LOTTTT....

I AM TO THE POINT THAT I WILL PAY SOMEONE who fixes this problem. No, im not rich, but few dollars or lunch money wont hurt someone. :)
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2004
Messages
117
Get rid of zone labs I tthought this was my problem but it seems most people who have it has this problem go to their website and follow directions for removal. Check my reply to thuggedout
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top