1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot find server or DNS error

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by emvee, Apr 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. emvee

emvee Thread Starter

Hi guys! Im a tech support agent myself. I had this customer w a weird problem I couldnt solve.
    Basically I only wanted to access the router settings page with IE6 to configure the wireless network. It came up with this error: "Cannot find server or DNS error".
    The router is sending the correct information to the PC (IP address, default gateway).

So here is what I did so far:
    -Removed dial up networks, ticked automatically detect settings
    -Deleted cookies, temp files
    -restored defaults in advanced settings
    -disabled firewall
    -reinstalled IE6
    -disabled / enabled network adapter (ethernet)

Getting the same message over and over again.

I think this shouldnt matter but still its an info: the customer is actually not live yet w the broadband service.

OS is XP..not sure but probably SP2.

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. mozzacajun

mozzacajun

have you tried a wired connection?

3. emvee

emvee Thread Starter

The whole troubleshooting was done wired. I only said I wanted to configure his wireless network, but I had to access the router via ethernet cable.

4. mozzacajun

mozzacajun

from a command prompt, type

ipconfig /all

and post here

the default gateway will usually be the ip that will connect you to the router settings page

5. emvee

emvee Thread Starter

Ah, sorry i left out a few things. The customer was getting the correct IP and gateway addresses from the router. But when I tried to access it via IE, it just gave me the error message.

6. tomdkat

tomdkat Retired Trusted Advisor