1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

'cannot find server'

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by avl, Jul 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. avl

    avl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    ive been having some issues with IE...i can get on the computer and IE shows up but every time i try to get a web site to open i get ' cannot find server.'
    i ran vundo fix and found nothing...i ran ewido and just caught a few tracking cookies. im just about to run ccleaner and ad-aware to see if ive got something in my system.
    anyone got any ideas on what else i can do? i kinda need to be on that computer later tonight...im posting from another one in the house.

    thanks alot!!

    tony
     
  2. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    Click here to download HJTsetup.exe:
    http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/forum/index.php?action=tpmod;dl=item5

    Save HJTsetup.exe to your desktop.

    Double click on the HJTsetup.exe icon on your desktop.
    By default it will install to C:\Program Files\Hijack This.
    Continue to click Next in the setup dialogue boxes until you get to the Select Addition Tasks dialogue.
    Put a check by Create a desktop icon then click Next again.
    Continue to follow the rest of the prompts from there.
    At the final dialogue box click Finish and it will launch Hijack This.
    Click on the Do a system scan and save a log file button. It will scan and then ask you to save the log.
    Click Save to save the log file and then the log will open in notepad.
    Click on "Edit > Select All" then click on "Edit > Copy" to copy the entire contents of the log.
    Come back here to this thread and Paste the log in your next reply.
    DO NOT have Hijack This fix anything yet. Most of what it finds will be harmless or even required.
     
  3. avl

    avl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    im sorry ...i would have done an HJT log but part of the problem is i cant get back to this thread...i cant get on any websites and im currently on a different computer.
     
  4. avl

    avl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    if nobody has an idea how to fix it, can someone tell me if its possible to post a hjt log while in safe mode?
     
  5. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    Get the log over to that machine
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/482382

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice