1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot format my hardrive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Spicyllama, Apr 19, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Spicyllama

    Spicyllama Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    My hardrive is being recognised in the bios and in the device manager under 'disk drives'. However it doesnt appear in 'this pc' and when I go to format the drive, only my ssd appears. There is no unallocated drive or anything. I have tried to install drivers and change the sata connection and restart but nothing changes. I have also rescanned disks and still nothing. Can someone help?
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10,137
    Right My PC > Manage > Disk Manager . Do you see your drive there ?
     
  3. Spicyllama

    Spicyllama Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Its on the device manager but not on the disk management.
     
  4. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10,137
    Device Manager only shows you that the driver was installed. Disk Management shows you that the drive is there or not.
     
  5. Spicyllama

    Spicyllama Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    But the hardrive appears in the bios? So could it still be a faulty drive or software issues?
     
  6. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10,137
    Is the hard drive new ? If so then return it.

    Boot up a Windows setup DVD and see if that recognizes the hard drive's existence. Go as far as the part where it shows the partitions. There you will see your HD if it works. Then POWER OFF.
     
  7. Spicyllama

    Spicyllama Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Okay. But I don,t have a disk drive to insert a DVD
     
  8. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10,137
    You can use MS Media Creation Tool to generate an up-to-date Windows setup DVD/USB memory stick.
     
  9. Spicyllama

    Spicyllama Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Okay thank you i will try it.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1225988

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice