1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot get into a particular website

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by boopsct, Jan 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. boopsct

boopsct Thread Starter

Hi! First of all Im a beginner at this computer stuff so please bear with me. There is one particular website that I like to use all the time that I cannot get into. I keep getting the page that says internet explorer cannot display the webpage. The website in question is upatsix.com and the specific URL Im trying to get into is chats.upatsix.com. This is the classifieds section. This all started almost a month ago when my service provider{Adelphia} was converted over to comcast. I have emailed both Comcast and the webmaster and upatsix and both claim there are no problems on their end. Comcast suggested I clear all my temporary internet files etc and try again...it did not work. Im using internet explorer 7. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

2. TOGG

TOGG

Has that site ever worked correctly since you got IE7? There are some troubleshooting tips here;http://www.ie-vista.com/known_issues.html

If none of the things mentioned on that site seem to apply to your situation post back here. When only one site fails to work there is a possibility the something called a 'Hosts' file is involved.

If you have Spybot S&D, or certain other programs, you will have a Hosts file and you can check by doing a search on your computer using 'Find Files or Folders' (I don't know where that is in XP but someone else will be able to help you find it, if necessary).

3. boopsct

boopsct Thread Starter