1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot get LAN setup

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Jerrygr, Feb 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jerrygr

    Jerrygr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    I am trying to get a WIN 98 (Gateway)machine to connect to a DSL modem thru a four port hub. I had two DELLs ( with WIN 2000) connected together on the LAN and they worked fine. One of the DELL's power supply died and I connected the older Gateway. I cannot get the Gateway to connect to my DSL modem, I am using IE 6. I think I do not have the Gateway configured correctly. I have used the Wizard, no good. I have tried using the IP address, DNS settings and Gateway settings from the DELL. I have tried using no IP address, getting one automaticly. I cannot get online from the Gateway or find the DELL from the Gateway or find the Gateway from the DELL. The port lights show I all three online. I have tried another network card and changed slots on the Gateway. I had the Gateway networked with another DELL at one time, worked fine. I have cable checking instruments and the cables are good.
     
  2. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    If you are using a hub and getting 2 machines online, you were probably getting 2 ip addresses from your ISP.
    Go to the tcp/ip for the win 98 machine and double click, should have obtain ip address automatically checked.
    Do they use a pppoe client?
     
  3. Jerrygr

    Jerrygr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    I tried that at the start of this. What is pppoe client?
     
  4. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Click on Start > Settings > Control Panel.
    Double click on Network.
    List the Adapters and the tcp/ip's you have.
     
  5. Jerrygr

    Jerrygr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    This is what is installed:
    Client For Microsoft Networks
    PCI Ethernet DEC 21041 Based Adapter
    TCP/IP
    File and Printer Sharing

    TCP Properties Settings:
    Advanced -- (none)
    DNS -- enabled
    IP -- obtain auto
    DHCP-- ENABLED
    WINS -- disabled
    gateway -- added
    NetBIOS -- disabled
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, for starters, you should enable NETBIOS over TCP/IP if you want to browse the network in Network Neighborhood. Here's what I have in my TCP/IP configuration, this setup has worked with both direct connection to my cable modem, and with the router.


    In General:

    - Obtain an IP address automatically
    - Obrain DNS server address automatically

    In advanced properties:

    Make sure you have IP Security and TCP/IP Filtering disabled.

    In Wins, enable NETBIOS over TCP/IP.

    IN DNS, I have:
    - Append Primary and connection specific DNS suffixes.
    - Appent parent suffixes of the primary DNS suffix.
    - Register this connections DNS suffix in DNS registration.

    In IP Settings I show DHCP enabled.
     
  7. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    I have DSL and a router, on the tcp/ip for the NIC I have:
    TCP Properties Settings:
    Advanced -- (none)
    DNS -- disabled
    IP -- obtain auto
    DHCP-- ENABLED
    WINS -- disabled
    gateway -- blank
    NetBIOS -- disabled

    You might want to try these settings.:cool:
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/116655

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice