Cannot get to a specific URL

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wahine

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Messages
86
Here is the deal: I ordered from this site buybuttonparts.com before my laptop network plug broke, sent my laptop to be repaired, it's back and for whatever reason I cannot get to their site any longer. I've called Charter Tech Support and they're able to get to it. I shut down Zone Alarm, set everything in IE6 back to their defaults and still cannot get there; I've set IE to NOT search from the address bar and I'm getting "Cannot find server..." anyone have any suggestions at all as to where I can start? OH I did have a couple of friends check if they could get there however; they’re on CenturyTel not Charter.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
It's not available from here, so I suspect that the problem is not at your end.
 

wahine

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Messages
86
Thanks kiwiguy for confirming I haven't lost my mind. Any suggestions from anyone as to what I can do? Anyone at all -- I'm willing to try almost anything ;)
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
To see if it is a DNS problem, you might try using their IP address of 67.18.52.81

If that works and you have a NT based OS, you might try flushing your DNS cache - start / run / IPCONFIG /flushdns
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
3,998
Is that the only site you have a problem connecting to?

1) If so, search your system for a hosts file. The one you want to open will have no extension (not: Hosts.sam or Lmhosts.sam). It can be opened in Notepad.

See if there are any for buybuttonparts.com. There might be more than one entry. It may look like the following:

127.0.0.1 buybuttonparts.com

If you find it, delete it. Or if not certain, place a # at the start of a line
to force Windows to ignore it.

The hosts files act as a redirect, so when you go to a site that is listed in there, it redirects your command to your local system.

2) Check Internet Explorer->Tools->Internet Options. Security Tab. Make sure buybuttonparts.com isn't being blocked in Restricted Sites.

3) On the General Tab. Delete Files. Delete all offline content. Delete Cookies. Delete History. Unless, you save some particular items for some special reason. Then you will have to selectively delete those items in Windows Explorer.

sekirt
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
It must be a DNS issue, as the IP address works fine.

Perhaps they have had a change of IP address, or host ISP and all the internet DNS servers are not yet fully updated. Some can take a day or two.
 

wahine

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Messages
86
Sekirt -- I am in the process of trying to do what you have suggested. However I am not clear on what I am searching for -- do I search for "hosts" or "lmhosts" or anything with "host" in it (??) as long as there is not file extension correct?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
wahine,

Can you also connect using the IP address I posted earlier as well?

If you want to edit the hosts file, it all depends on what OS you have for where it is located.

For Win9x it is in the \windows directory
For NT based OS it is in the \windows\system32\drivers\etc or \winnt\system32\drivers\etc directory.
 

wahine

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Messages
86
Bob, No I could not get to it with the IP either. But I did find the "host" file without the extension that sekirt suggested but there was nothing for the url. I sent an email to them and explained again what was going on and they replied that they're server was down until midnight so I'll try again shortly. It's just too weird. I do need to ask probably a *duh* question but is XP considered an NT based OS? Also I'm going to do the IP Flush you suggested first. Thanks and I'll let ya'll know what happens.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Yes, XP is an NT based operating system so you can do the IPCONFIG /FLUSHDNS. But if you can't get to the web site by IP then this likely won't do much good.
 

wahine

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Messages
86
Sorry it's been so long... the flu is running it's course in my home -- not pretty -- back to the subject at hand... You can close this thread... don't know what happened but it's all good now. I guess I'll never know. Thank you all again for being so great!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top