1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot install Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Blaze7870, Feb 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Blaze7870

    Blaze7870 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Hello,

    My dad just bought a new 1TB hard drive, and I'm installing it and loading windows 7 onto it. However, I've used my official disk and it hangs stuck at 0% on 'expanding windows files'. I've tried my official disk, I've tried burned install disks and none of them work. I've reset the motherboard to optimized defaults, no luck with that either. I've been able to install it by putting it into my personal computer, and installing it like that through mounting an ISO file, but as soon as I put it back into my fathers computer it says BOOTMGR is missing. I did startup repair to fix that, now it freezes and restarts itself when it gets to the W7 logo screen with the flying bubbles or whatever they are. I've never had this problem before. Any help?
     
  2. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    B 7870
    Hello & Welcome to TechGuy.org

    Perhaps I mis understand.
    If W7 is installed on Computer A, then the HDD is transferred to Computer B, a problem will occur if the computers have different chipsets.

    Run HDD diags.

    Why the 1 TB HDD? More capaciity or a problem with the computer?

    HDD diags
    http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=287

    Mem & other diags at
    http://www.carrona.org/hwdiag.html

    Please provide the following:
    W7 version install attempt [ 32 or 64 bit; ? SP ]
    brand, model & model # for
    CPU
    motherboard
    video card
    ram; speed, too
    other add in cards

    RF123
     
  3. Blaze7870

    Blaze7870 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Yes, infact, I believe my personal computer has an Intel chipset, and my fathers computer has an AMD chipset.


    The previous HDD died.

    I've tried both W7 64 bit and 32 bit SP1 resulting in both getting hung up at 0% expanding windows files and resulting in an error "Windows cannot install the required files. Some files may be missing or corrupt."
    Also I burned multiple CD's in case that was the problem with the previous attempts, but I recieved the same error.

    These are the specs: http://desktop-computers.tech-specs.com/emachines-et1331g-05w-n55314941

    The MB is an eMachines HT2000 MCP61PM-GM.

    I will get back to you with the diag results.
     
  4. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    B :
    Are you installing [ attempting to install ] from a Microsoft W7 DVD or other; if other, please provide details.

    RF123

    edit
    Thanks for the system specs.

    end edit
     
  5. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1089956

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice