1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot load hive file...

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Airscrew, Jan 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Airscrew

Airscrew Thread Starter

HELP!!!

I have a big problem, and want to solicit some advice before taking the next step.
    I am not a techie admin, but working at home as a competent user, but with limited hardware and software tools to hand.

Problem.
    WinXP pro SP2, Dell laptop (ie limited hardware options), very standard set-up, C0000218 error, cannot load hive file.
    Starting in SAFE mode, or SAFE with command, or LAST known config, all fail with C0000218 as above.

I have daily user data backed-up to a USB drive, so no problem there.

I have a full copy of c:\, AND a full backup of c:\windows from Dec21 on the USB drive.
    However, there is no hive file ('software.' is that correct??) on either backup. Viewing hidden and system files is enabled.
    I can now see that I should have used the system files option separately. (Why doesnt XP do this at boot time anyway, for autorecovery??)
    I also have no EBD....

Using an NTFS4DOS bootdisk, I can 'see' the 'software.' hive file size 23Mb, so there is disk and file integrity.
    CHKDSK shows no errors at all.
    The .SAV file is from 2000, probably how old th m/c is, and only 630k. Therefore I think of very limited use here.

I tried to make a copy of the file before tampering.
    COPY generates a 6.8Mb file (only!! - is this a big clue??)
    COPY /b /v still only generates 6.8Mb, but gives no error code.

Other than than, the system is untouched.