1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cannot locate "Accessories", Ms. Chelsea_c

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by chelsea_c, Apr 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chelsea_c

    chelsea_c Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    My Windows operating system is Mellinium Edition and Pentium 111.
    When going to Start, then Programs, I cannot locate "Accessories", it has simply disappeared from the screen. How can I restore that important folder?
    Many thanks. Chelsea_c :confused:
     
  2. VirtualMe

    VirtualMe

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    867
    Hi chelsea_c,

    Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

    If you have your Win Me disk.

    Click on Control Panel

    Add/Remove Programs

    At the top choose Windows Setup tab

    Put a check by Accessories

    Click on the Have Disk button and follow the instructions.
     
  3. chelsea_c

    chelsea_c Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Many thanks to you Guys for your promptness in replying to my querie.
    I have followed your instructions and would like to emphasize that the check mark was never removed from the box in the Windows Setup tab. I have inserted the ME Disk and followed the instructions but was not successful in restoring the "Accessories" folder. Should I un/install the whole thing and then re-install it? Regards, Chelsea_c
     
  4. VirtualMe

    VirtualMe

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    867
    First do a search and see if you can find the Accessories folder.

    Click Start

    Search (for files or folders)

    and type Accessories


    Note: Mine is located in C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs
     
  5. A Hawk

    A Hawk

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    882
    If they just disappeared it might pay you to go here http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
    and do an online virus scan........just to be safe. :)
    Also when you go into the controlpanel>add and remove> win setup>accessories, double click on accessories and see if they show themselves. ;)
     
  6. chelsea_c

    chelsea_c Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Many thanks A Hawk for your prompt reply, it is much appreciated, however the problem pesists. Regards, Chelsea_c
     
  7. Cowboy622

    Cowboy622

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    783
    Do as VirtualMe said is the first post:
    If you have your Win Me disk.

    Click on Control Panel

    Add/Remove Programs

    At the top choose Windows Setup tab

    Put a check by Accessories

    Click on the Have Disk button and follow the instructions

    BUT first UNCHECK Accessories to uninstall it and apply, THEN follow the steps to re-install it.

    See if that works.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/219143

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice