1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot log into 192.168.1.1 or http://192.168.0.1 to setup my wireless NETGEAR router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jptineo, Oct 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jptineo

    jptineo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Having issues with my NETGEAR WNR834B wireless router. I initially lost my modem (charter.net) - had to replace. After replacing and going through a few "support" personnel, they determined that something was wrong with my router.

    At the time, the router power light was not ON at all. Disconnected completely and messed with the "reset" button on the back a few times: power on, reset button, power-off, reset button...blah, blah (many times).

    Finally the power light is ON and green - can only assume that the reset process worked.

    Now, I can seem to access the router to begin to reset everything from scratch - I've seen this same question in this forum as far back as 2007.

    According to the instructions and all that I've found her and other places, I don't need an internet connection to connect to the router....well tried and tried, used different cables for input and output...but not luck.

    The Power light is Green, the LAN light (cable from router to CPU) is Green, but wireless light is NOT ON.

    Bought this router a couple of years ago from a friend...no disc or paperwork - got NetGear manual from website (used this for the initial connection...2 yrs ago).

    Appreciate any tips or "next steps" ...all are welcome.

    Thanks,
    Joe
     
  2. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    Are you connecting a network cable from the computer to the router with nothing else attached?

    What happens when you enter the router's address into your browser's address bar?
     
  3. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862
    Power up the router and connect it to the computer. Mouse over the Network icon in the task bar. Should show Status as connected.

    Open Network and Sharing Center. If the diagram at top has a red X between the left computer icon and center router icon you are not connected to the router. If the red X is between the router icon and world icon, you are connected to the router, but it is not connected to the internet.

    If you are connected to the router, click View Status to the right of Local Area Connection, When the Status page comes up, click details button. The IPv4 Default Gateway is the IP address of your router.

    You can find the same information by running an IPCONFIG /ALL.
     
  4. jptineo

    jptineo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the reply - my setup:


    cable from wall to modem, network cable from modem to router "internet" port, another network cable from one of 4 ports to the computer.


    I believe Explorer displayed something like "Address cannot be found...." Sorry...should have taken a screen shot.


    Thx.
     
  5. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862
    I am confused!

    cable from wall to modem(unknown), network cable from modem to router(NETGEAR WNR834B) "internet" port, another network cable from one of 4 ports to the computer.

    Your posts indicate this setup is giving you an internet connection, but you cannot access the router's GUI using 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.0.1. Is this correct?


    If this is correct, it indicates that the IP address of the router is not one of those two numbers.

    To find the router's IP address:
    Click on the Network Icon located at he bottom right of the computer screen.

    For Vista/Win7
    Click Network and Sharing Center in the popup.
    Click View Status to the right of Local Area Connection.
    When the Status page comes up, click Details button.
    The IPv4 Default Gateway is the IP address of your router.

    For XP
    Click the Support tab.
    The Default Gateway is the IP of your router.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    plug a cable directly between the PC and the Router - by pass all the other wall cables etc - just one cable
    and try
    any one of these three URLs in the address field
    of your browser, then clicking Enter:
    • http://www.routerlogin.net
    • http://www.routerlogin.com
    • http://192.168.1.1
    The wireless router will prompt you to enter the username/password

    also with the router connected to the PC - post back an ipconfig /all

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Make sure you are using one of the LAN ports if directly connected by cable
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1071196

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice