1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot log into my computer

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by copo, Sep 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. copo

    copo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Hi,
    Im new to this site and in a right pickle. My computer seemed to get a virus and after trying everything else I attempted to restore my computer. This seemed to go ok but now i cannot log onto my computer. all i get is the windows screen (XP) and it tell me I have to activate my windows which obviously I cant as I cant get into the computer. I have tried to go in of safe mode but this doesnt work either. I do not have the windows cd as it was already stored on the computer and the computer company has gone bust.
    Please help
    Regards
    Copo:(:(
     
  2. Ingraved

    Ingraved

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    You may need to purchase a new copy of windows and install that. you will need to reinstall your drivers so that you can run your computer properly. you mentioned that your computer company went bust but other 3rd party websites often store technical data about PC's. if you locate your computer make/model and model# google those to find your drivers.
     
  3. shinybeast

    shinybeast

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    How did you "restore your computer?"
     
  4. copo

    copo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Through windows control panel
     
  5. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,712
    If you didn''t activate windows before the 30 day time limit,you will be locked out.
     
  6. copo

    copo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Hi,
    I did originally activate windows when i first purchased the computer. I dont know why its asking me to do it again.

    copo
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/754804

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice