Cannot open Home Page

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gazza

Thread Starter
Joined
May 18, 2000
Messages
151
Hi to all,

Can anyone please help me with a small problem?
I can surf the internet, but something is stopping me from opening my yahoo.uk homepage in Windows 98SE. Below is a log from HijackThis, and i have run Ad-Aware and SpyBot, but they have found mothing.

Thanks in advance.

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
Scan saved at 13:15:56, on 11/04/04
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222B)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MDM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZLCLIENT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\ptsnoop.exe
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\MICROSOFT SHARED\WORKS SHARED\WKUFIND.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\CACHEMAN\CACHEMAN.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANICWARE\POP-UP STOPPER FREE EDITION\PSFREE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CTFMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\SGMAIN.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\MICROSOFT SHARED\WORKS SHARED\WKCALREM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\SGBHP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\AOL 7.0\WAOL.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\RAINLENDAR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\NEW FOLDER\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://uk.yahoo.com/
O2 - BHO: SpywareGuard Download Protection - {4A368E80-174F-4872-96B5-0B27DDD11DB2} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\DLPROTECT.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] C:\PROGRA~1\ZONELA~1\ZONEAL~1\zlclient.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CountrySelection] pctptt.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PTSNOOP] ptsnoop.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WorksFUD] C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\wkfud.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Microsoft Works Portfolio] C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WksSb.exe /AllUsers
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Microsoft Works Update Detection] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\WkUFind.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Avgserv9.exe] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [TrueVector] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Machine Debug Manager] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MDM.EXE
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Cacheman] C:\PROGRA~1\CACHEMAN\Cacheman.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [PopUpStopperFreeEdition] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANICWARE\POP-UP STOPPER FREE EDITION\PSFREE.EXE"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Microsoft Works Update Detection] C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WkDetect.exe
O4 - Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
O4 - Startup: SpywareGuard.lnk = C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
O4 - Startup: Microsoft Works Calendar Reminders.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Copy Location - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\graburl.htm
O9 - Extra button: Wallpaper (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &Toolbar Wallpaper (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Offline (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Add to Tr&usted Zone (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Add to R&estricted Zone (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: MSN Messenger Service (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?38084.7274421296
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Try going to tools/ internet options and click"use default"
Then close Internet Explorer. Reopen it and navigate to your preferred page again then go to tools/ internet options and select"use current"
 

gazza

Thread Starter
Joined
May 18, 2000
Messages
151
Hi mobo,

Thank you for the reply, but i tried what you said and again it just came back with an blank white screen.
Also what i more curious is that on this dual boot system of 98SE & XP Home i am having exactly the same trouble with XP as well?
The log file from Hijack This for XP Home is below, and i can't see anything that is same as the post above for 98SE.
By the way 98SE is setup as FAT32 and XP Home is NTFS, and what else is driving me mad about this is that i have to use AOL 7.0 as my ISP.
And i can get into the homepage for yahoo through that in both XP and 98SE, but not with Internet Explorer 6.0 in both operating systems.


Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
Scan saved at 13:22:36, on 11/04/2004
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
D:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
D:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
D:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
D:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
D:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
D:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
D:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
D:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgserv.exe
D:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISUM.EXE
D:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
D:\WINDOWS\system32\pctspk.exe
D:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
D:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISSERV.EXE
D:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\SymProxySvc.exe
D:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
D:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
D:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\IAMAPP.EXE
D:\Program Files\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe
D:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\WkUFind.exe
D:\WINDOWS\tppaldr.exe
D:\WINDOWS\System32\NVATray.exe
D:\WINDOWS\tppnttry.exe
D:\PROGRA~1\PANICW~1\POP-UP~1\PSFree.exe
D:\Program Files\Rainlendar\Rainlendar.exe
D:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
D:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\ATRACK.EXE
D:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgbhp.exe
K:\Software\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://uk.yahoo.com/
O2 - BHO: SpywareGuard Download Protection - {4A368E80-174F-4872-96B5-0B27DDD11DB2} - D:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\dlprotect.dll
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - D:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - D:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - D:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV Agent] D:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [iamapp] D:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\IAMAPP.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] D:\Program Files\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /startup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Microsoft Works Update Detection] D:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\WkUFind.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TPP Auto Loader] D:\WINDOWS\tppaldr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NVIDIA nForce APU1 Utilities] NVATray.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [PopUpStopperFreeEdition] "D:\PROGRA~1\PANICW~1\POP-UP~1\PSFree.exe"
O4 - Startup: Rainlendar.lnk = D:\Program Files\Rainlendar\Rainlendar.exe
O4 - Startup: SpywareGuard.lnk = D:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Copy Location - D:\WINDOWS\WEB\graburl.htm
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Add to R&estricted Zone (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Add to Tr&usted Zone (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Wallpaper (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &Toolbar Wallpaper (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Offline (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: {3AF4DACE-36ED-42EF-9DFC-ADC34DA30CFF} (PatchInstaller.Installer) - file://J:\content\include\XPPatchInstaller.CAB
O16 - DPF: {3E68E405-C6DE-49FF-83AE-41EE9F4C36CE} (Office Update Installation Engine) - http://office.microsoft.com/officeupdate/content/opuc.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?38080.4356712963
 

gazza

Thread Starter
Joined
May 18, 2000
Messages
151
Hi,

Just an update.
I have scanned both XP Home and 98SE, with the following and the results are below:.

Ad-Aware 6.0 - Nothing
a2 Scanner - Nothing
SpyBot 1.2 (It found an Alexa entry and some DSO exploits, all deleted, but the systems homepages with yahoo UK are still the same).
AVG 6.0 Anti-Virus - Nothing
MRU-Blaster - Cleaned all caches - Nothing
CWShredder - Nothing
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Do a scan for that url in the "Hosts" file in either operating system. It will have to be opered with notepad as well.
 

gazza

Thread Starter
Joined
May 18, 2000
Messages
151
Hi mobo,

Pardon me asking, but how can i find and access my Host file in either 98SE or XP? As i have never worked with these files, many thanks.

Edit above post:

I found a file in C:\Windows, this is in 98SE called Hosts and it contains the following:

# Copyright (c) 1998 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP stack for Windows98
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

127.0.0.1 localhost
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Just do a windows search for Hosts and the folder should appear to you.In xp it is in the C:\Windows\ system32\ drivers folder
 

gazza

Thread Starter
Joined
May 18, 2000
Messages
151
Hi mobo,

Thanks for the help.
But i edited my post above without realising that you had posted a reply to it.
I did a search in both 98SE and XP for the Hosts file.
And the one in 98SE i found in the C:\Windows folder, and the contents are below:

# Copyright (c) 1998 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP stack for Windows98
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

127.0.0.1 localhost

And in XP i found it in the file D:\Windows\system32\Drivers\etc and it contains again the following:

# Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

127.0.0.1 localhost
 

gazza

Thread Starter
Joined
May 18, 2000
Messages
151
Hi to all,

Can this post be classed as Solved?
As i am afraid that i took the coward's way out... :confused:

C:\ Format

D:\Format

Re-install C:\

Re-Install D:\

Thank you for all of the help that was offered to me.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top