1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cannot open IE properties...why?

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by welsh-jon, Oct 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. welsh-jon

    welsh-jon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Hi I'm running Windows 98 and every time I try to open 'properties' for Internet explorer, it will not open. It looks like it's trying to, as there is a quick flash of a box appearing to open (milli-second) Is there anything I can do to get around it or fix it? Thanks 'guys'
    Jon
     
  2. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Internet Explorer 5.x/6.x comes with a repair tool. To use it, go to the Add/Remove Programs Control Panel; Scroll and click to highlight 'Microsoft Internet Explorer 5/6.x' in the Install/Uninstall window; Then click on the Add/Remove button; Select 'Repair' the current installation of Internet Explorer radio button; Click on OK. Restart your computer when prompted.
     
  3. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Scan for virus on-line at http://housecall.trendmicro.com.

    Ensure you're running a firewall like free Sygate from http://download.com. Type, sygate, in the Search box and press Enter. Double-click the Sygate download icon when the download is done. you must be on-line while you install Sygate.
     
  4. welsh-jon

    welsh-jon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks very much for all that advice Styxx- I'll try it right away..
    Jon
     
  5. welsh-jon

    welsh-jon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Hi just one thing- -I can't find Internet Explorer in the list for add/remove programs. Not sure what version I'm running - would you recommend d'loading a more recent version?
    Jon
     
  6. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    To determine the IE version there you'd start IE; Click the Help menu; Point to About.

    Yes, I'd recommend IE 6 and all the Critical Updates and Service Packs from http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com Keep going back in there until you have all the latest Critical Updates and Service Packs as well.
     
  7. e-liam

    e-liam

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Hi welshjon,

    Try this for repairing IE. Go to Start | Programs | Accessories | System Tools | System Information and click Tools. Then you can click get to the Internet Explorer Repair Tool and do it from there. See how you get on with that.

    Cheers

    Liam
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169622

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice